Sportbike Forums on WristTwisters banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On 600cc bikes, it comes stock with a rear tire size of 180/..... and on a 1000cc bike, they come stock with 190/.....

Now the question is, some of the guys that I ride with will swap out the rear tire on their litre bike for a 180 rear tire, they swear it turns in better. Since I have no real experience with this, is there any truth to this as I've already talked to the dealership about swapping the rear tire out before picking the R1 up.

·
Wookie
7,274 Posts
The 600cc bikes have 5.5 inch rims, which fit 180 tires. Liters have 6inch rims and fit on 190 tires.

The 190 on most, if not all liter bikes is a 50 series tire and less 'pointy' than the 180 which is a 55 series tire.

When you take a 180 and put it on a 6 inch rim, it stretchs it out a little to fit it. It still a little more 'pointy' than a 190/50 so yes, the turn it will quicken on some. The downside is that you have less of a contact patch when you are leaning it the corner pretty good.

Alot of tire manufactures made a 190/55 tire as a solution to this. You get all your pointiness you want and still get your fat contact patch.

Pointy is a funny word.

G

·
I know guys that do choose the 180 on a liter bike, but I preffered the 190 on my old 929 myself. It's personal preferrence I guess.

·
The "Eagle" Has Landed
7,093 Posts
2wheeltours said:
I know guys that do choose the 180 on a liter bike, but I preffered the 190 on my old 929 myself. It's personal preferrence I guess.

Funny... now that I have tried both a 180/55 and a 190/50, I would stick with the 180/55.

It was more predictable for me, even at extreme lean angles, I could usually catch a slide or potential low side in time to save it.