Sportbike Forums on WristTwisters banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Semi-professional MoRider
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Short version:
Root cause: clogged air filter due to high engine oil level makes engine run rich
Solution: wash or replace air filter and adjust oil level at next oil change

Longer version:
The stink or '919 stank' has puzzled generations of 919 riders. Different theories and remedies have been contemplated, from higher octane fuel, hotter thermostat to windscreens and pipes but no conclusive solution has been reached to my knowledge,

I am in the camp of 'I don't care unless I wait at a stop light with a tail wind'. However, recently I started riding with a friend; he is a 'returning rider' and rides behind me. He mentioned the stink repeatedly. Still, I didn't really care but it seemed to get worse recently.

Earlier this year, spring cleaning and maintenance on the 919, I pulled the air filter. It was black and oily. I washed it out with soapy water and dried it (it takes about two days to dry even in my 90F + garage).

The stank disappeared, and the engine was much more responsive. But the stank came back after a few rides.

Pulled the air cleaner again, and again it was oily and dirty. Rinse and repeat.

I started thinking where the oil gunk comes from. The crank case breather hose goes into the intake duct somewhere seems to be the most likely culprit.

My oil level was at the top line of the glass.

When I then changed my oil, I was very careful to adjust the oil level so that it is exactly in the middle of the glass, not the top.

Now the air filter stays clean and the stank is gone.

What do you guys think, did I find it?

·
McTavish
6,570 Posts
yes I got a center stand
While the centre stand provides for the bike being level on the yaw axis, it introduces error on the pitch axis.
Which is why the factory manual calls, admittedly in rather inferred way, that bike be on its wheels and balanced on its yaw axis and fill to the high mark.