yamaha wr250r off road report - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 8 Old 10-16-2008, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
Tirone is my middle name

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

yamaha wr250r off road report

Took the new bike offroading this weekend on some trails a few hours away in some hilly country up north. This is my first experience offroading a bike so keep in mind I am a complete novice but I am incredibly impressed by this bike. It climbed rocky hills and went through the mud with no problem whatsoever. Easy to handle and more than enough power for a novice and I believe it will keep me very satisfied for years to come. It did not take long to gain confidence in the bike even with all the mud, wet leaves, and wet rocks. The suspension needs a little adjusting for me but overall seems very good, the tires never left the ground unless it was on purpose and took the bumps and rocks very well.

Unfortunately my offroading may be over for the year. On the third day I was riding back to the cabin and going slow through a deep water hole (it had been raining the three days we had been up there) me being a novice I was trying to be very careful and go slow, well I went to slow, the ground was still firm and the back tire slid down into a rut under the water and going so slow I just lost my balance and tipped over. I kept the bike from actually hitting the ground but the water was too deep to matter. Everything filled with water. Put it on the trailer, brought it home and starting tearing it apart Tuesday night. Water in the oil, water in the airbox, water in the exhaust. Spark plug had some grit on it as well as in the exhaust chamber. I'm not going to take any chances of completely ruining the brand new motor so it's going to be completely torn apart, cleaned and put back together. Son of a...

but I had fun up to that point and I am hooked. IMHO dual sport is the way to go as other people have been saying.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement