new to dirt - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 18 Old 12-30-2009, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
just ride it...

new to dirt

So, I've decided I want to get into trail riding. Seeing as I haven't seriously ridden a dirtbike in 14ish years, I don't know what I'm looking for. Someone suggested a KDX200, and someone else a CRF230. I'm looking for friendly suggestion that I can look into to start out in the dirt. I'm not new to motorcycles I've been riding street for the last 13 years, I'm not looking to race, just play around in the woods some. Thanks!

Oh, please don't turn this into a huge deabte, I'm just looking for some friendly suggestions. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 12-30-2009, 07:45 PM
Stare into me...

Awards Showcase
Extraordinary Ride Donation Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 4

There may be guys who can advise you better than I can....and that are more familiar with the many fine Japanese bikes out there.

But I am friendly with a multitude of very serious, very accomplished trail riders and they all ride KTM's. They cost more to own and maintain but IMHO (I've got some seat time on all types of KTM's) they are among the best if not the best. Super-light weight, stonking motors, trail sorted supensions, and no noticeable weight penalties for features like starters. Their four strokes stand up against the best Jap bikes and they are also just plain COOL.

While it has become more difficult, a savvy person can also get the majority of them tagged up, with Vermont tags if nothing else. In my experience, street legality is very important.

Good luck with your search, and check out some other forums like ADVrider. Ecea.org is what us East coasters refer to for info on bikes, Dual Sport rides and Enduros.

post #3 of 18 Old 12-30-2009, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
just ride it...