New rider: 1978 CB550 - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 18 Old 04-24-2010, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

New rider: 1978 CB550

Hey. I'm a complete newb to motorcycles who scored a almost free 1978 Honda CB550 with 89xx miles. It belonged to a guy who is deceased, a buddy of mine was hired by the guys daughter to clean out the shed and this nice bike was sitting in the corner covered by junk. It rolled out of the shed and onto my truck somehow .
So far trying to find the title is the biggest hurdle, the house is a complete mess, I'm talking severe hording, but the daughter is trying. I at least will have a bill of sale if no title pops up.

Now here's the next dilemma, It's been sitting since 1983(date of inspection sticker). I pulled the carbs and cleaned them up and I'm getting fuel flow now, but I must not have cleaned them good enough. One carb is over flowing, I suspect a bad float or dirty valve. The past week I've been working into the night trying to get it to start, cleaned the points, checked the plugs, etc. I got it to start on ether, but she was only running on cylinders 1 and 4, 2 and 3 are dead, I suspect a bad coil. I haven't fully investigated it yet.
Now, I can't seem to find parts for these bikes, yet I see plenty of people restoring them and pictures of them are all over Google. I'm trying to find a carb rebuild kit, condenser and points kit, and possibly coils and a rectifier.

Most of if not all of the chrome is pitted and rusted, my plans were to sand and paint it all flat black, replace the muffler and paint the headers, have the seat fixed and try to find some 550 four emblems, have the side covers just missing the emblems on both...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 04-24-2010, 10:01 PM
Mc 9er

yo chris,glad to see you made it on here.

c 9er
silver,the fasted colour
post #3 of 18 Old 04-24-2010, 10:15 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Veteran Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3