Bleeding Brakes - what a pain - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 26 Old 11-01-2007, 07:29 AM Thread Starter

Bleeding Brakes - what a pain

Well, I'm almost finished restoring a 1983 CB650SC Nighthawk. The last thing to do (as far as I know right now) is bleed the brakes. The calipers, master cylinder and break lines were toast. I got new caliper pistons and seals. I got a rebuild kit for the master cylinder. I got new brake lines, banjo bolts and washers. After installing everything I have tried to bleed the brakes. When I turn the bleeder screw nothing comes out. I've tried the traditional way of squeezing the brake lever a little and holding it; then opening up the bleeder and squeezing the brake lever all the way and holding it and then closing the bleeder. Nothing comes out, no air and no brake fluid. I then got some "speed bleeders". They are suppose to let you open the bleeder and then keep squeezing the brake lever until all the air is out. Nothing comes out, no air and no brake fluid. If I remove the bleeder screw, brake fluid will ooze out. With the bleeder removed and if I squeeze the brake lever, brake fluid still just oozes out. All during the process, I make sure that the reservoir is full of brake fluid. I'm so close to riding this bike I can taste it. I've even thought about riding with only the rear DRUM brake...not a good idea. I just need to get the front brakes bled...what a pain. Anyone know the secret?

Thanks,
LarDog

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 11-01-2007, 07:31 AM

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition 
Total Awards: 1

kinda sounds like you're not getting any pressure from the master. seems like it would ooze just from gravity down the line. it should almost squirt out when you squeeze the lever i think

post #3 of 26 Old 11-01-2007, 07:44 AM Thread Starter

Makes sense. Not sure what to do with the master cylinder. I installed the rebuild kit...

post #4 of 26 Old 11-01-2007, 07:57 AM
Pilus Posterior

Awards Showcase