Which is better, Givi or SW-Motech Toprack - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 3 Old 07-10-2008, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

Which is better, Givi or SW-Motech Toprack

I am planning to buy a Givi topcase (looking at the E370 Monolock) I will need a toprack to mount the case to. I am considering the Givi toprack
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/trade...tview/807/487/
and the SW-Motech toprack
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/trade...tview/158/197/
Does anybody have any opinions on the differences? I like the looks of the SW-Motech better but I wonder if the Givi would be more solid due to more attachment points. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 07-10-2008, 10:54 AM
Tom
Immune

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 3

I have a lot of experience with the GIVI stuff, and no direct experience with the SW-Motech items...although I researched both before going with GIVI.

I think SW-Motech can't beat GIVI for strength...but how strong does the set-up need to be top accomplish what you want? Overall solidness may be a false issue, as the SW-Motech will probably be plenty solid.

Both allow use of side case racks if/when you want/need to go there

Price of the GIVI E370 monolock case with the SW-Motech top rack is very similar to the price of the GIVI box and GIVI FZ256 top rack, so that's not much of a decision-maker.

Some people say they like the SW-Motech racks because they can be attached/removed quickly. I can get all my GIVI racks on or off in less than 15 minutes. When they are on, they stay on for a good length of time. I haven't found a need to switch them on and off multiple times within a short span...so I've learned "easy-on/easy-off'' was a false issue in my case.

If I were you, I think I'd go with the SW-Motech rack(s) because you already prefer that look and you will probably be spending a lot of time with it after your purchase.