whats going on? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 7 Old 03-03-2009, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
Tirone

whats going on?

Hi all I just have a question.

03 9ner, 20,000 on it. I start it up let it warm up then start riding. So here is the deal. I like using my throttle but the problem is that when I do it stops running between shifts. Kinda a safety concern of mine. If I don't notice it and let it into gear of course my back tire skids as the motor starts. Just thought I would ask the experts around here if they have any ideas.

Thanks
Mark

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 03-03-2009, 09:51 AM
Tirone

I'm no expert, but my guess would be a loss of spark.. Does it happen in neutral while revving as well? There's a plethora of things it could be (vacuum leak, fuel issues, spark etc)...

post #3 of 7 Old 03-03-2009, 11:07 AM
STR-III

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

once started, does it idle fine? Then it won't idle once you are going? While warming it up, do you have to keep giving it throttle input to keep it running?

Press Any Key To Continue.
post #4 of 7 Old 03-03-2009, 11:13 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

if it is idling hard tell us what rpm it idles at.

'04 919---40k----6/18/10 SOLD

http://s603.photobucket.com/home/ZookMor/index
post #5 of 7 Old 03-03-2009, 11:28 AM
Tire abuser

Do you mean it cuts out when you shift out of neutral? Does this happen under load only (i.e., when you are riding the bike)? If it cuts out whenever you shift into gear, it could be the sidestand cut-out switch. If it will idle but won't make any power, it could be an obstruction in the airbox or exhaust (dirty air filter, mouse nest in exhaust, etc.).

post #6 of 7 Old 03-06-2009, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

It happens under load. Full throttle with a slow shift. Meaning if I don't immediately go into the next gear. She idles just fine and my idle rpm is set at around 1100rpm.