"used" 919 with no miles - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 43 Old 05-31-2010, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

"used" 919 with no miles

Hi all,

Lately i've been doing a lot of searching for a used 919. I came across a guy on craigslist with a 2007 model. He says he is the orignal owner on the bike and it has zero miles on it. He claims to have bought it new and never rode it.

Frankly, I find it a little hard to believe. You go out and buy a new bike and never ride it for 3 years?

Assuming I do go out and look at it, what should I be checking for?

If someone replaces the odometer, are the miles stored in the odometer only? Or are they stored in the bikes computer?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 Old 05-31-2010, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

I should also add.....I've been riding for a little over 3 years, so i'm not a newbie. Currently, I'm riding a 1998 honda magna and love it.

post #3 of 43 Old 05-31-2010, 04:39 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

they are only stored in the odometer AFAIK, and I believe when you order a new odo from Honda they ask you for the mileage so that they can set the odo accordingly...however is someone reports 0 miles why wouldn't they just ship them out? I'd be very cautious.

post #4 of 43 Old 05-31-2010, 05:12 PM
Allons-y!

Garage
Maybe he took one look at it, realized how much it would rock his shit and left it sitting in the garage, afraid of what it could do to him...

"Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it" ~ Ayn Rand
post #5 of 43 Old 05-31-2010, 05:14 PM
Tirone is my middle name

Awards Showcase
Donation 

literally zero miles? he could have easily bought it recently as a left over, there's still a few lingering around at dealerships so it's very possible he hasn't had it since 07 but if it has absolutely no miles I'd be cautious.

I Don't try to explain to people why I ride a motorcycle