Tachometer Confused - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 02-14-2010, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Not so Rookie Anymore
 
stiggy8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 407
Rep Power: 1
 
Question Tachometer Confused

My 06 9er has a weak battery (still original). Went to take it for a ride and it wouldn't start. pulled the battery out and then decided to jump it so I could get the ride in before the temps dropped.

So I successfully jumped it with my truck... so far so good. But heres the kicker... The tach decided to do a 360... it rotated all the way around... so now when it I'm reving the engine... the tach tries to rotate clock-wise but hits the stop at the bottom of the rev position. It is also getting hung up with the temp guage needle.

My question... is there a way to get the tach needle back to it's correct location? I'm not sure how it got to where it is... but it had something to do with the jump/battery remove/reinstall as all was fine before the jump. I'm baffled by this one.

Would appreciate any suggestions.


Temecula, CA (So Cal)
06-919

Too often we lose sight of life's simple pleasures.
Remember when someone annoys you, that it takes 42 muscles in your face to frown ...
But it only takes 4 muscles to extend your arm and bitch-slap that mother- upside the head...

Pass it on.
stiggy8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 01:12 AM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Have you tried unhooking the battery again to see if the tach resets?

sbeau1960 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 11:56 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,765
Rep Power: 1
 
you may have fried your tach... jumping a motorcycle battery via car battery is NEVER a good idea. the battery for your bike is 6 volts vs the the car battery is 14 volts.

Pvster is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 12:11 PM
blur
 
drewvir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Deptford,NJ
Posts: 1,372
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvster View Post
you may have fried your tach... jumping a motorcycle battery via car battery is NEVER a good idea. the battery for your bike is 6 volts vs the the car battery is 14 volts.
no it's not

they're both 12v(@12.8v dc)

'04 Honda 919, Candy apple red met., 17/44t sprockets,f-16 windscreen,delkevic ss exhaust,Tharbars,givi engine bars, billet alum. led turns w/ running lights,red adj.levers from china, bar end mirrors,grip heaters,adj. foot peg brackets,adj. bar risers,dunlop Q2(that are better than your pp 2ct,lol)bike wired for gps and phone charger
drewvir is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 12:21 PM
Vehicle Abuse Specialist
 
WheelieTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fogelsville
Posts: 618
Blog Entries: 4
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvster View Post
you may have fried your tach... jumping a motorcycle battery via car battery is NEVER a good idea. the battery for your bike is 6 volts vs the the car battery is 14 volts.

WheelieTime is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 12:23 PM
STR-III
 
cmurphy84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Western KY
Posts: 4,989
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvster View Post
you may have fried your tach... jumping a motorcycle battery via car battery is NEVER a good idea. the battery for your bike is 6 volts vs the the car battery is 14 volts.


Right....

Someone else has described this problem. I'll search and try to find the solution.

Press Any Key To Continue.
cmurphy84 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 12:41 PM
Tirone
 
cbr900racer77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: middle TN
Posts: 89
Rep Power: 1
 
They are both 12 volts, but car/truck battery is pushing a helluva lot more amps. I've jumped bikes like that before but with very short bursts of cranking.

XX motor in a 900 frame...Come get some.
cbr900racer77 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 04:17 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,765
Rep Power: 1
 
thanks for the correction. old mech gave me this info years ago so i never bothered to check it out.

i stand corrected. i love this forum.

Pvster is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 08:58 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,351
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

The type of gauge used in the instrument cluster is called an "air core", and has no return to zero function. This is why the needle can get stuck on the wrong side of the gauge, and why later models (I think '04 and on) have a key on sweep to pick up the needle. In this case the battery was so depleted it's RTZ function won't work, and the wildly fluxuating voltage while cranking confused the gauge driver into thinking the engine was at redline.

If the needle is pointing straight down (the other "zero" position it has) and has gotten tangled up with the temp needle the only way I can think of to get it back to where it should be is to remove the instrument cluster, dismantle it to get at the needle and returrn it to the zero stop manually. If, however, it's at rest position is to the right of the needle it may be possible to get the needle to move with a strong magnet swept CCW across the meter face to chase it back. If the needle deflects toward the magnet just turn it around to repel instead of attract.

It's doubtful if the tach is "blown", just a bit discombobulated (Precise technical term!)

Oh, replace the battery.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 09:25 PM
Speed Lover
 
XRCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,369
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbr900racer77 View Post
They are both 12 volts, but car/truck battery is pushing a helluva lot more amps. I've jumped bikes like that before but with very short bursts of cranking.
Batteries don't push current. The load, (instruments, starter, lights, ect) draw current from the battery as needed. So if the car battery is 12V and the object drawing current from it is indented to operate off of 12V and is functioning properly then it will only draw the amount of current it was intended to draw. So doing short start bursts off of a car battery won't make any difference if all components are good.

XRCajun is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 11:12 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
ya i was just bout to say.... batteries dont push current they just store it.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 02-15-2010, 11:55 PM Thread Starter
Not so Rookie Anymore
 
stiggy8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 407
Rep Power: 1
 
Thaks for the info... I had heard that the car-motorcycle jump wasn't the ideal... but figured it shouldn't hurt a more modern bike. It was only connected for about 15 seconds to get her going.

I did disconnect everything prior to my original posting to see if it would do a reset and that didn't help. I'll give the magnet a go per Rob's post. I have a couple of different magnets... strongest being an old computer hard drive platter magnet.

I was thinking about trying to reverse the polarity to the tach to see if I could get the needle to spin opposite direction. Is there any rationalization for that approach?

Really hate to take the tach apart... never seals up as well as at the factory... but do want to get my RPMs back.

Again. Thanks. And yes a battery is on my short list of things to buy. Suggestions on where to purchase would be appreciated as well.


Temecula, CA (So Cal)
06-919

Too often we lose sight of life's simple pleasures.
Remember when someone annoys you, that it takes 42 muscles in your face to frown ...
But it only takes 4 muscles to extend your arm and bitch-slap that mother- upside the head...

Pass it on.
stiggy8 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 06-04-2010, 11:56 PM
Discen
 
oy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 206
Rep Power: 1
 
Stiggy8
Did't you find a solution - did't anyone find a solution to this problem, mine did't exact the same thing yesterday, only I was driving (I think, did't see it) when it happen't.
So now my needle's are "stock together"...
(My battery is okay, it was dry and hot when it happen't, the watercooler fan startet up at least one time, during the 15 km. when it happen't)
I have removed the fuse to the instrument's in order not to make the problem even worse, until a solution can be thought of..... did't the magnet do any good ? what have you done to fix the problem..............?

In advance thank's for any kind of advice
Hans - DK

oy05 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 06-05-2010, 12:02 PM
Discen
 
oy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 206
Rep Power: 1
 
Well hat the meters apart, "forced" the needle back - and apperently everythings okay again..... I wonder what made it happen in the first place ?
Think I will pull the meters apart, and make a stop to the needle, at the end of the red scale, preventing it from happening again....

oy05 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 06-24-2013, 02:13 AM
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
Easy fix

I know this is an old thread, but this recently happened to my hornet 900 (919). It seems if the battery gets tired, some circuitry gets confused and the fly up/fly back mechanism operates incorrectly. Somehow, the tacho needle went too far and ended up nearly 1 complete revolution from it's resting position at 0. As a result, it got stuck to the left of the temp gauge.

Taking the clocks off looked difficult to me, so a friendly bike mechanic suggested drilling a small hole in the side black plastic of the tacho. This allowed a thin piece of wire to be inserted and used to gently ease the needle back to the correct side of the temp gauge. Switching the ignition on then put the needle in it's correct place at 0. A blob of black mastic sealant made it waterproof again and you can't see where the hole was. A neat 5 minute job. And of course I replaced the battery first!

pombiker is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-24-2013, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Not so Rookie Anymore
 
stiggy8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 407
Rep Power: 1
 
Noticed that I never posted back on this issue. I ended up pulling the instrument cluster apart and popped the needle back the other side. Was actually much easier than expected. Just made sure that I kept the area clean/dust free as best I could and got in and out in an hour or so. No problems since. I now have a battery tender and the bike gets connected anytime it has to sit for more than a few days. A cager buddy recommended the tenders and swears by them for all of his vehicles... and he has a 6 car garage full. So no dead batteries since!


Temecula, CA (So Cal)
06-919

Too often we lose sight of life's simple pleasures.
Remember when someone annoys you, that it takes 42 muscles in your face to frown ...
But it only takes 4 muscles to extend your arm and bitch-slap that mother- upside the head...

Pass it on.
stiggy8 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome