Rear Rack - Working on a new concept - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 41 Old 11-03-2014, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

Rear Rack - Working on a new concept

I'm working on a simple rear rack design and looking for some constructive feedback. I'm fairly new to the 919 having purchased BruteForce's bike back in September. I'm really enjoying it so far. I mostly do hour long pleasure rides, ride it to meetings, go to the store for small items, etc.

I've been trying to figure out what I want to do to be able to carry a few items. Don't need to carry much - maybe a jacket liner, tire gauge, extra ear plugs, small flashlight, a couple of burritos, pair of shoes, etc. - about 5 to 15 liters of stuff.

What I see available are the items from SW Motech, Ventura, and Givi. Not sure that I care for any of them for what I want to do. Especially for what some of them cost. I'm not interested in a tank bag. And to complicate things, the bike has a Corbin seat which doesn't really have a nice flat area for a tail bag.

The photos below show a prototype of a simple rack I'm working on to replace the factory grab bar. This is laser cut and formed 14 ga (.075") 304 stainless. I have it spaced about an inch above the rear bodywork which puts it a bit below the Corbin. I figured if I wanted it the same height I could always space it up. There are a few slots to run webbing through, or hook bungees to, and I suppose I could also bolt on a top case plate if I wanted to. I think the Wolfman Peak tail bag would be a good fit and there may be other options as well.