rattle when under load - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 Old 08-24-2008, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
rattle when under load

hello all
my bike is making noises/rattles when under load, okay at a fixed speed.
never did this before only started straight after having heads port & polished , flapper mod , pc111.
does not affect performance at all.
any thoughts would be appreciated.
thanx glenn

GLENN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 08-24-2008, 05:20 PM
Isn't That Somethin'
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bradford PA
Posts: 1,028
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

need more info like where does it sound like it's coming from? what does it sound like tinny or more dull? can you feel it?

UT VIVANT ALII...SO OTHERS MAY LIVE
jd31goalie is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 08-24-2008, 07:27 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
just went for a spin & rode it to mates work shop, he also took it for a spin to help in description & we found a bolt missing from bottom of radiator near water hose .
problem fixed bike rock solid again.
blip.... machanics.

GLENN is offline  
post #4 of 36 Old 08-25-2008, 05:51 AM
Isn't That Somethin'
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bradford PA
Posts: 1,028
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

there you go, nice job!

UT VIVANT ALII...SO OTHERS MAY LIVE
jd31goalie is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 08-25-2008, 06:19 AM
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
ajcombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,801
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Helping a Member in Need 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLENN View Post
hello all
after having heads port & polished , flapper mod , pc111.
thanx glenn
So can't believe no one else on this horNUT place hasn't asked!!

How did the port and polish work out? Are you impressed with the results or can you even tell it was done??


Glad you got the bike noise resolved!

ajcombs is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 08-25-2008, 07:00 AM
Primus Pilus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,400
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Yea, when I read his first post I instantly forgot about the rattle and thought to myself "I wonder how much different it feels with a ported head"?

MMMMM, Power Good!

Ripper is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 08-25-2008, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
7 hp hard to tell , but he said he could dial the cams in more for more top end but i will start to lose bottom end , he also said he could try & make a custom map for more hp with the pc111 .
u need nos for a bigger kicks.
also rattle is back

GLENN is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 08-25-2008, 08:22 PM
Tirone
 
91_4x4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 26
Rep Power: 1
 
Pinging perhaps?

91_4x4runner is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 08-26-2008, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
put octane booster in tank , went for a spin & yes the bike was noise free.
machanic told me at the start i will have to run premium he was right.

GLENN is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 05:57 AM
I Love Parallel Twins
 
Naked/SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Golly Whomper, Southeastern Seaboard
Posts: 473
Rep Power: 1
 
I don't understand how the port job or flapper mod could cause detonation. Most likely the PC is causing lean conditions? You didn't mill the head so essentially it's the same compression ratio. Either a bad tank of regular gas or the wrong fuel mapping.
As a side note, I've tried all three grades and it seems (seat of pants feel) to run strongest and oddly enough, better gas mileage with regular 87 octane. Wild! I pretty much always get my fuel at a Sunoco station off of I-95 that sells a lot of gas figuring that with the high turn over they will be always have the freshest gasoline.
I have never used Octane Boost before, sometimes I'll pour in a little Stabil if the gas will be in something that sits around for a bit. But this isn't the case for the 919.


JDubya
Harleyville, South Carolina
USA
Naked/SS is offline  
post #11 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 09:31 AM
Tirone
 
faster4344's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 78
Rep Power: 1
 
dissapointing to hear theat it only gave 7 hp. lol guess well have to wait for the cb1000r

faster4344 is offline  
post #12 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 03:36 PM
Franklin McGillacutty
 
riquefied919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora IL
Posts: 1,181
Rep Power: 1
 
Did the machine shop cut some off the heads?????

riquefied919 is offline  
post #13 of 36 Old 08-27-2008, 03:39 PM
Franklin McGillacutty
 
riquefied919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora IL
Posts: 1,181
Rep Power: 1
 
How many ponies does the CB1000R have in its Gullet? I'm really not tryin to jack this thread.

riquefied919 is offline  
post #14 of 36 Old 08-28-2008, 12:38 PM
Tirone??
 
Gotsteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 347
Rep Power: 1
 
Hey, Back onto subject of this thread. I have recently had the same rattle when under load. I have been busy with school and work to diagnose it, but after reading about your missing bolt, I went and checked mine. Sure enough. The bolt holding the radiator on the left side, behind the radiator hose is gone. Will sure be nice to be rattle free again! (maybe another lock tight item to add to the list with the bar ends...)

2006 Honda 919


States visited on my 919
Gotsteam is offline  
post #15 of 36 Old 08-28-2008, 12:43 PM
Aquilifer
 
bucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alaska
Posts: 1,249
Rep Power: 1
 
NEED CLOSURE ! was head shaved? thinner head gasket? any other changes to require more octane? DYNO CHARTS before and after ?!?

how agressive was the porting, and do you have before and after pix?

naked, the lowest usable octane is what makes the most power and the most efficient combustion. higher octane burns slower.

bucky is offline  
post #16 of 36 Old 08-28-2008, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
head was shaved ,flowed on the inlets & fully ported on exhaust , valve timing was changed.
went for a 400km ride to the mountains & bike was good, i filled up 98 octane fuel at a 1 horse town & bike started to ping.
so as a rule i will always fill my bike up at a popular service station with higher turn over of fuel. no pics sorry

GLENN is offline  
post #17 of 36 Old 08-29-2008, 10:55 AM
Aquilifer
 
bucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alaska
Posts: 1,249
Rep Power: 1
 
torco accelerator is a well respected octane booster. if you don't mind red spark plugs. (it's chemicals stain the porcelain and electrodes)

bucky is offline  
post #18 of 36 Old 08-29-2008, 10:57 AM
Aquilifer
 
bucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alaska
Posts: 1,249
Rep Power: 1
 
how was valve timing changed? presumably slotted sprox? cuz it WAS changed by shaving the head too, so i'm wondering if you just reduced/eliminated that cam retardation inherent in shaving the head, or if you did something more bold?

bucky is offline  
post #19 of 36 Old 08-30-2008, 11:57 AM
Go'n So slow I'm stopped
 
xrmikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,909
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotsteam View Post
Hey, Back onto subject of this thread. I have recently had the same rattle when under load. I have been busy with school and work to diagnose it, but after reading about your missing bolt, I went and checked mine. Sure enough. The bolt holding the radiator on the left side, behind the radiator hose is gone. Will sure be nice to be rattle free again! (maybe another lock tight item to add to the list with the bar ends...)
Sorry, but there is no bolt on the lower left side.
The radiator has only Two mounting bolts one on top & one on the right side.
The left has just a bushing slipped onto a bung.
If you install one on the left, the bolt will rub on the hose itself.

One place a buzz or rattle doe's occur, is from the frame mounted "tie bar" style frame sliders.
Re torque the hardware. The Delron slider will collapse a little & loosen the assembly.

xrmikey is offline  
post #20 of 36 Old 08-31-2008, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
not sure how he changed timing will ask next time i see him.

GLENN is offline  
post #21 of 36 Old 08-31-2008, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
thanx mikey i will remove the bolt , i new it was tight i used a dome head bolt for that reason.

GLENN is offline  
post #22 of 36 Old 09-01-2008, 09:10 AM
Tirone??
 
Gotsteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 347
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrmikey View Post
Sorry, but there is no bolt on the lower left side.
The radiator has only Two mounting bolts one on top & one on the right side.
The left has just a bushing slipped onto a bung.
If you install one on the left, the bolt will rub on the hose itself.

One place a buzz or rattle doe's occur, is from the frame mounted "tie bar" style frame sliders.
Re torque the hardware. The Delron slider will collapse a little & loosen the assembly.
Yes, you are correct. I checked the OEM catalog before installing this bolt to find that there isn't one there. I guess I will have to make sure that the other two bolts are torqued to specs, and hope this resolves this rattle.
Thanks Mikey

2006 Honda 919


States visited on my 919
Gotsteam is offline  
post #23 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 10:32 AM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

soo.... we never really found out... was it worth it getting the heads ported and polished?? did the rattle ever stop?? hows it run now??



Pacojerte is offline  
post #24 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by barton664 View Post
soo.... we never really found out... was it worth it getting the heads ported and polished?? did the rattle ever stop?? hows it run now??
rattle was pinging so i had to use higher octane fuel because i upped the compression.
i got 7hp from head work , bike had 103hp now 110hp hard to tell maybe u get used of it pretty quick, i was looking for about 15hp but didnt want to loose any bottom end.

GLENN is offline  
post #25 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 02:24 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLENN View Post
rattle was pinging so i had to use higher octane fuel because i upped the compression.
i got 7hp from head work , bike had 103hp now 110hp hard to tell maybe u get used of it pretty quick, i was looking for about 15hp but didnt want to loose any bottom end.
so in your opinion was it money well spent??



Pacojerte is offline  
post #26 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by barton664 View Post
so in your opinion was it money well spent??
no not enough kick.

GLENN is offline  
post #27 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 08:52 PM
STR-III
 
cmurphy84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Western KY
Posts: 4,989
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

This might be a dumb question...but isn't it easier to 'feel' an increase in torque as opposed to HP? I'm sure more of all the above would be great, but (and this is a big, open-ended but) if given a choice, would you try to boost top-end HP or low-end torque?

Everyone feel free to chime in.

Press Any Key To Continue.
cmurphy84 is offline  
post #28 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 08:55 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmurphy84 View Post
This might be a dumb question...but isn't it easier to 'feel' an increase in torque as opposed to HP? I'm sure more of all the above would be great, but (and this is a big, open-ended but) if given a choice, would you try to boost top-end HP or low-end torque?
IMHO i feel the 9er has enough low end... it is starved on the top... i think i would be happy if i could get mine putting about 125 to the ground..



Pacojerte is offline  
post #29 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 08:57 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

hey glenn... do you have a different exhaust on yours... cause it lists the port and polish etc... and it looks like aftermarket cans in the picture.. i was just curious exactly what setup you had..



Pacojerte is offline  
post #30 of 36 Old 12-07-2008, 08:59 PM
STR-III
 
cmurphy84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Western KY
Posts: 4,989
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

As for all this rattling that started the thread...

I had an issue with my bike rattling around certain revs. I found that 2 of my 4 rubber washers/bushing (whatever they are) were missing from my windscreen. Bought some new ones from Lowe's and the problem magically went away.

Press Any Key To Continue.
cmurphy84 is offline  
post #31 of 36 Old 12-08-2008, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by barton664 View Post
hey glenn... do you have a different exhaust on yours... cause it lists the port and polish etc... and it looks like aftermarket cans in the picture.. i was just curious exactly what setup you had..
remus revolution.

GLENN is offline  
post #32 of 36 Old 12-08-2008, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
http://919turbo.com/ this sounds the way to go if i didnt stack my bike i would be doing this.

GLENN is offline  
post #33 of 36 Old 12-08-2008, 07:44 PM
Tirone
 
nallac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 60
Rep Power: 1
 
That turbo kit would add a heap of fun to the Hornet.
Woohoo 140 hp at wheel on stage 1...

nallac is offline  
post #34 of 36 Old 12-08-2008, 08:22 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by nallac View Post
That turbo kit would add a heap of fun to the Hornet.
Woohoo 140 hp at wheel on stage 1...
i'm thinkin.. i'm thinkin... gotta find a way to talk mary into letting me spend 2200 bucks on a turbo...

any suggestions??



Pacojerte is offline  
post #35 of 36 Old 12-09-2008, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
NAKED & IN LUV
 
GLENN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by barton664 View Post
i'm thinkin.. i'm thinkin... gotta find a way to talk mary into letting me spend 2200 bucks on a turbo...

any suggestions??
tell mary things r tight at work and u had to take a pay cut?

GLENN is offline  
post #36 of 36 Old 12-09-2008, 02:51 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLENN View Post
tell mary things r tight at work and u had to take a pay cut?
i left the dealership a month ago and now i am self employeed..(which might explain the amount of time spent here) she gets all my money...

need a plan B now



Pacojerte is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome