Question about 919 forks - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 10 Old 09-28-2009, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Question about 919 forks

I started playing around with the preload and dampening on my front forks this afternoon and noticed something. From factory the preload adjusters are turned 90 degrees from one another. That is, on one side the flat sides point left to right. On the other side, they point from the front of bike to rear. However, when I checked the dampening adjusters, they are lined up perfectly (the adjustment marks on the adjusters both point in the 12 o'clock position). Interestingly, the stickers on the adjusters are in alignment as well (that is when the adjusters are still 90 degrees different).

I decided that this was in error and turned one of the preload adjusters to match the other. As a result, the dampening adjusters pointed in different directions (even though they were both 1 turn from full h). Took the bike for a quick ride and it just felt weird (just a little)...like the front end wanted to go right. Therefore, I set it back the way it was.

My question is, is this normal? If not, what should I do? My initial thought is to set the preload where they are even, back both dampeners off an equal amount and not worry about where the marks point relative to the other, but then again, it just didn't feel right.

I'm sure somebody will have a quick answer for this newb, so thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 09-28-2009, 05:51 PM
Hastatus Posterior

The preload is set by judging how many "rings" are visible on the stem going into the forks.

post #3 of 10 Old 09-28-2009, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farab View Post
The preload is set by judging how many "rings" are visible on the stem going into the forks.