Sportbike Forums on WristTwisters banner

New (to me) 919 - exhaust too loud!

2K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  rufftup 
#1 ·
Hello everyone, total newb here. Probably posting in the wrong place or some other egregious error, and if that’s the case, please let me know.

Just purchased a 2004 919 yesterday, and I like the bike, but it’s WAY too loud. It has a Sato Racing exhaust installed, and this thing SCREAMS. Granted, I’m not the typical rider - the exhaust sound is one of the last things I look for in a bike. In fact, I’m generally annoyed by loud bikes. I’m an old fuddy-duddy, I can’t change that.

Now I need some help from the experts here. I want to put a stock exhaust back on, or make this one as quiet as stock, or quieter, if that’s even a thing. I checked Revzilla, and they have quiet baffles, but none that say work for a Sato, and no way to know how quiet it would be without a bunch of trial and error. Also, new stock mufflers would cost about half what I paid for the bike, so that’s out. I’m not concerned about performance as this bike is already stretching the limits of what I can handle. That said, I don’t want to do anything that would affect reliability.

Is there a product out there that someone has actually used to solve this problem? Does anyone know of a place where I should look for someone to buy or trade stock pipes? Is this that place? I know nothing.

I appreciate any advice you can give me.

See less See more
#2 ·
I'm sure someone here would be more than willing to trade their stock for your Satos, especially if they are in good condition. That said, if you are willing to do a little work, repacking them might help; I've heard they can get very harsh when the packing gets worn out. I've never had them, so can't really help beyond that.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

#3 ·
Hello everyone, total newb here. Probably posting in the wrong place or some other egregious error, and if that’s the case, please let me know.