New rider, new 919, tech question - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 33 Old 09-28-2008, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

New rider, new 919, tech question

I've been learning alot lurking and completely abusing the search function over the last couple weeks, and I have to say, you guys and gals have a great forum!

I do have a tech question though. I am a new rider and the bike is a brand new '07 919. I've noticed that the fine, part-throttle control is very poor on my bike. The transition from off the throttle to on-throttle jolts and can studder while trying to maintain speed, enough so that it makes it a scarry transition while cornering.

At first I chalked it up to it being a new bike that needs to "learn", as you would a high-strung sports car. Then after reading on wrist twisters, I adjusted the throttle cable and figured I just needed more practice. Now I can honestly say my bike has a fault/problem.

I am a road race car builder/ driver, and if one of my cars did this, I would be looking everything. Thottle position sensors, linkages, computer tuning, etc.

Does anyone else feel as though their 919 is missing the first 1-15% of the throttle control and "switches" on and off? Anything else I can check or do? I love this bike and I really want to hit the twisties with some confidence.

Thanks much,
Christian

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 Old 09-28-2008, 10:50 PM
Machine Head

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Welcome Christian
One must be very smooth with the throttle, dose take some getting used to. There might be another 919 owner near sac who can ride your bike and compare.

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
post #3 of 33 Old 09-28-2008, 10:55 PM

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Welcome aboard.

I felt the same way at first. It was my first fuel injected bike so wasn't used to the throttle response.

Not sure about your bike; it could have a problem.

Let's see what Rob has to say.