New Member - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 25 Old 11-08-2009, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
The Cripple

yo, Pv here. bought an 02 black 919 a few days ago with almost 19k miles for 3 grand. apparantly has two bros single side exhaust with matching storage can, power commander, some unknown flyscreen, and who knows what else. the bike was repossessed (i feel bad for the previous owner) before i got my hands on it.

so far i gotta say, this bike is just an absolute kick to ride. i have an 89 honda shadow vlx that i am currently in my 2nd year of modifying, and recently sold a 250 ninja that got totaled out due to the chain breaking while riding (that was a fun bike as well!).

i hope to get knowledgeable about this bike and clearly i have a lot to learn. are the two bros exhaust good? i need to figure out how to hook up to the power commander and see if it has any maps. its running rich down low (i'm getting a lot of popping), and seems to have some idle issues. once bike warms up the idle surges slightly between 1900 and 1500, getting really annoying, and more so for a fuel injected bike.

i commute daily, rain or shine, so i researched this bike a fair bit after seeing the price at the dealership (including this website) and i just want to say thanks for the wealth of info! best 3 grand i've spent in years and i'm a poor college student so this really suits me. now i just need to learn how not to use most of the power available to me otherwise i'll get my first speeding ticket soon

i'll have to check and see if the flopper mod has been done. what other mods are there that i should check for and or read up on? sorry for the newb questions, i tried the search function and apparently i havent figured out how to use it yet

any 919 owners in the portland, oregon area?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 11-08-2009, 03:39 PM
Primus Pilus

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation 
Total Awards: 2