New Digital Gauges for the 919? - Wrist Twisters
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 08:31 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
New Digital Gauges for the 919?

...... Thought I'd get a thread going on Digital gauges that can be used on the 919.

- It would be nice to have something digital, maybe w/ a gear indicator
- Light-weight would be an added benefit

The first one would my favorite for track-days.... dump the stockers....mount it slightly left of center.

(Speigler) Motogadget - ChronoClassic Multi



Motogadget - MotoScope Light



Here's another cheap alternative....... the Veypor in black.... for $159

mounted on an SV650...



Here's another one....from Trailtech --- ALSO called they 'VAPOR', normally for off-road use, this one has been adapted to an SV650.


arctic954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 09:32 AM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,604
Rep Power: 1
 
I've looked at putting on an automotive tach, found a nice Stewart Warner electrical analog display type. White face, not black. Black is problematic for me in flat light conditions in the fall season.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 09:34 AM
Imaginifer
 
woodyeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 406
Rep Power: 1
 
Ok heres a secret, seems ive been meaning to do a gauge swop for years and have just not got round to it. I want to put an rc51 speedo on my 919 but ive never found one for the right price or ive had other things to do instead. It looks to me that it will be a fairly easy mod and it has the right redline for our bikes and its still a nice gauge after all these years

http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o222/woodyeee/IMAG0306.jpg
woodyeee is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
......wiring wise....do you think it will require a hack job or plug n' play?

arctic954 is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 01:23 PM
Imaginifer
 
woodyeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 406
Rep Power: 1
 
I'm no electrician, but i once compared the two wiring diagrams and most of the colours of the wires were the same if i remember rightly
If someone would care to send me one with the rc51 loom i will put it on

http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o222/woodyeee/IMAG0306.jpg
woodyeee is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 01:57 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

f4i gauges almost plug n' play. You just need to reuse 1 connector from 919 gauges as on 919 setup 1 is male 1 female and on f4i there are both female


zaq123 is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 02:32 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,776
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

If only our redline started at 14k

beefsalad is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 02:45 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
If only our redline started at 14k
yea, we can only wish.
As far as gauges go: who gives a crap, I never look at the thing anyway when I need to shift.
and as far as f4i functionality goes, I like the following, something that my '03 didn't have:
1. Clock
2.temp. gauge that actually shows the temp
3. fuel reserve meter, it has a count down on how much reserve you have as you using it.
3. 2 trip odometers, A & B
4. Bright turn signal led, keeps me from forgetting to switch that blinker

zaq123 is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 04:39 PM
Pilus Posterior
 
AllanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,101
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaq123 View Post
1. Clock Got it.
2.temp. gauge that actually shows the temp
3. fuel reserve meter, it has a count down on how much reserve you have as you using it.
3. 2 trip odometers, A & B Got it
4. Bright turn signal led, keeps me from forgetting to switch that blinker OK on mine
Must have been a change on later 919's.

I've never found any form of motorcycle fuel gauge or warning system to be accurate - the best was the old reserve tap petlock - you soon knew when you ran out of fuel on the main tap - change to reserve and find a station.

AllanB is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 10-02-2010, 05:04 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanB View Post
Must have been a change on later 919's.

I've never found any form of motorcycle fuel gauge or warning system to be accurate - the best was the old reserve tap petlock - you soon knew when you ran out of fuel on the main tap - change to reserve and find a station.
yeap, there was a change in post '04 gauge setup.

zaq123 is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 01:09 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,604
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaq123 View Post
f4i gauges almost plug n' play. You just need to reuse 1 connector from 919 gauges as on 919 setup 1 is male 1 female and on f4i there are both female

Wasn't there some glitchyou discovered re this change, or at least came up with the work around ? Temp Gauge accuracy related is my recollection.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 02:47 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
Wasn't there some glitchyou discovered re this change, or at least came up with the work around ? Temp Gauge accuracy related is my recollection.
the glitch was that nobody could figure out how to get fuel reserve gauge working.
After reviewing 919 and f4i diagrams, I figured out the fix, it was pretty simple.
Kick stand switch had to be wired into the gauges as a part of fuel light reset.
On 919 the stand wire can be picked up at the clutch lever switch, no need to go all the way down to the kick stand switch.

zaq123 is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 02:54 PM
Hastatus Posterior
 
Farab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 1,454
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaq123 View Post
yea, we can only wish.
As far as gauges go: who gives a crap, I never look at the thing anyway when I need to shift.
and as far as f4i functionality goes, I like the following, something that my '03 didn't have:
1. Clock
2.temp. gauge that actually shows the temp
3. fuel reserve meter, it has a count down on how much reserve you have as you using it.
3. 2 trip odometers, A & B
4. Bright turn signal led, keeps me from forgetting to switch that blinker
Does it have a gear indica... sorry, silly question, Honda don't believe in such witchery.

Farab is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 03:58 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,604
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaq123 View Post
the glitch was that nobody could figure out how to get fuel reserve gauge working.
After reviewing 919 and f4i diagrams, I figured out the fix, it was pretty simple.
Kick stand switch had to be wired into the gauges as a part of fuel light reset.
On 919 the stand wire can be picked up at the clutch lever switch, no need to go all the way down to the kick stand switch.
That was it !
Good on you.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 03:58 PM
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Seen this a long time ago YouTube - Honda Hornet 900 Yoshimura

Mr T81 is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 04:08 PM
Red Rider
 
Woody469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 497
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T81 View Post
Seen this a long time ago YouTube - Honda Hornet 900 Yoshimura
Pretty nice setup, I wonder what it is and how the install was?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Some people live and learn and some just live!
My blood runs Honda Red......
2003 Honda 919
2004 Honda 599
1999 Honda XR650L
Woody469 is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
The unit shown above is made by Acewell..... They are fairly in-expensive (around $150) --- basically are set up for off-road bikes but also work on streetbikes. They come with their own speed sensor, temp sensor you put in-line into one of your radiator hoses..... then the indicator lights you have to figure out.



arctic954 is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
I found another company that is also making some cool stuff..... this company is expensive --- around $400. They make the model below in a 10,000 RPM version.



arctic954 is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 10-03-2010, 05:34 PM
Red Rider
 
Woody469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 497
Rep Power: 1
 
That Koso is pretty sweet!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Some people live and learn and some just live!
My blood runs Honda Red......
2003 Honda 919
2004 Honda 599
1999 Honda XR650L
Woody469 is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 10-04-2010, 04:53 PM
Braaaap
 
TeamZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 157
Rep Power: 1
 
Really like those last few gauges. Am I being really picky or does someone else care if they loose there miles? Yes I know you can keep track of them after you get the aftermarket one on there and just add them to what you had, but still if you end up selling or whatever.........Just my thought

LIVE TO RIDE
TeamZ is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 10-04-2010, 04:58 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamZ View Post
Really like those last few gauges. Am I being really picky or does someone else care if they loose there miles? Yes I know you can keep track of them after you get the aftermarket one on there and just add them to what you had, but still if you end up selling or whatever.........Just my thought
there is a simple way to get your miles up to what you have now

zaq123 is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 10-04-2010, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
If you plan on reselling your bike....I wouldn't do it. Hopefully, the 9er will be in the stable for a while.

arctic954 is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 10-06-2010, 12:30 PM
Braaaap
 
TeamZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 157
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaq123 View Post
there is a simple way to get your miles up to what you have now
There is?? Can you order them and tell them what miles you have or what?

LIVE TO RIDE
TeamZ is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 10-06-2010, 12:42 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamZ View Post
There is?? Can you order them and tell them what miles you have or what?
if you go with new gauges ~$600 from the dealer, he will do it for you or....


you can do it yourself if you get used gauges for $70 from ebay like I did.
All you need to do is to load a frequency simulator program on your laptop, get a set of old headphones, cut one ear piece off and connect them to your speedo. If you select the correct frequency (I have it written somewhere), it will make you gauges go 180 mph while you bike is sitting in your garage. So you gauges will turn 4320 miles in 24hr period.
There is no way to get it back down however and there shouldn't be any need to do that

zaq123 is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 10-06-2010, 12:54 PM
Fool in the Rain
 
HondaJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 10,284
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 4

I looked at those Koso units for my streetfighter F3. I'd need different redline.

The other gauges are nice, but I just can't stand a digital tach.

"Towards the end of the vid, it looks like she may have had a bafflectomy." - MarylandMike
HondaJim is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 07:30 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
......am interested in the RC51 gauge swap.... If anyone has had experience with this, post it up....

arctic954 is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 10:44 AM
Bacon-powered
 
ekovach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 574
Rep Power: 1
 
Amazon.com: koso: Automotive

Koso gauges on Amazon.com for less than MSRP.

Preschool - Kawasaki 100 enduro
Grade School - Honda CB 125
High School - Honda 400 Hawk
College - Honda VT500 Ascot
Real life - Honda 919
ekovach is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
I've come to the same conclusion.

Figure....by the time you get an RC51 speedo, wireharness, and mounting bracket....you'd at least have $300 into it..... Why not get a pro gauge (Bimota and others use these) ready to go with all new stand alone sensors and a nice mounting bracket for the same price.

Long story short....my local PartsUnlimited guy made a call and got me a killer price on the Koso RX2n 10,000rpm version.

Expect some pics and a full install report soon.

Btw - pm'd LDH on a price....he's also VERY competitive on price with the KOSO stuff. (just on the other side of the state)

arctic954 is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
arctic954 is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 04:33 PM
Discen
 
Blue919Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 192
Rep Power: 1
 
Too bad it does not show to 11,000RPM. My 919 gets pushed just past 10K quite often. Not much past, but still

I would really like some new gauges, how difficult do you think the install is going to be…

Blue919Guy is offline  
post #31 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 04:43 PM
Fool in the Rain
 
HondaJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 10,284
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue919Guy View Post
Too bad it does not show to 11,000RPM. My 919 gets pushed just past 10K quite often. Not much past, but still

I would really like some new gauges, how difficult do you think the install is going to be…
I'm not in the gauge making business. Having said that, it doesn't seem like it would be too hard to offer something with different redlines with a shift light. Analog tach, digital speedo, and the other "normal" idiot lights.

Give me a tach that I can cutout the range I want to show and then program the redline.

"Towards the end of the vid, it looks like she may have had a bafflectomy." - MarylandMike
HondaJim is offline  
post #32 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
They do have 2 versions.... one for 10,000 and one for 20,000..... figure I can set the 2 shifts lights for 9,500 and then again for 10,000... Power starts to drop after that anyway.

---- Doesn't seem to bad of an install..... It is a universal kit (with a bracket that will install just about anywhere - cool design)....so it can run self contained of the ECU.

there is a front wheel magnet and an active pickup that gets installed on the front fork.... the RPM will either get picked up at the coil under the tank or direct for the RPM wire going to the OEM speedo. There's also a coolant temp sensor that gets put in-line in a coolant hose.....(not sure yet if you can simply tap into the existing sensor...we'll find out)

Where most of the wiring is going to be......is getting all the colors for the indicator lights figured out.

arctic954 is offline  
post #33 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue919Guy View Post
Too bad it does not show to 11,000RPM. My 919 gets pushed just past 10K quite often. Not much past, but still

I would really like some new gauges, how difficult do you think the install is going to be…
The gauge you want.....is a KOSO and does exist..... its just custom made and on the Bimota Testi 3D.


arctic954 is offline  
post #34 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 05:15 PM
Fool in the Rain
 
HondaJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 10,284
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 4

The reviews I've read say the magnet pickup for speed, and the wire pickup for RPM can be iffy. It would be nice if they could take the stock gauge inputs for this stuff and get it dead on.

"Towards the end of the vid, it looks like she may have had a bafflectomy." - MarylandMike
HondaJim is offline  
post #35 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
arctic954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,816
Rep Power: 1
 
Good to know.

I've read the manual for the gauge already....and there is a bunch that can be programmed. Its my guess that the sensors might not be needed and 95% can be taken directly from the wiring harness. Pretty sure, I'll at least be able to grab the RPM straight from the harness.

arctic954 is offline  
post #36 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 05:44 PM
Discen
 
Blue919Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 192
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by arctic954 View Post
The gauge you want.....is a KOSO and does exist..... its just custom made and on the Bimota Testi 3D.


That is seriously baddazz! Not available though Im guessing? Im going to watch this thread and see how the install goes for you...

Blue919Guy is offline  
post #37 of 42 Old 10-07-2010, 05:45 PM
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
I have plans for this winter but I might want to install one of them Koso next winter. Very nice...

Mr T81 is offline  
post #38 of 42 Old 09-17-2012, 12:59 AM
Tirone
 
fordmanforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 30
Rep Power: 1
 
Not to tick anyone off drugging up an old thread does anyone know how hard a rc51 speedo is to get working if you have the cluster and wiring harness?

Toy Box:
2005 Ford F-150 SC 4x4 Lariat
1993 Ford Mustang COBRA
2005 Honda Aquatrax R-12x & F-12x Turbo's
1997 SeaRay 190RS MERC. S.S. prop./Hydrafoil
2006 Honda 400EX & 2007 250EX **FOR SALE**
2005 Honda CBR F4I **FOR SALE**
fordmanforever is offline  
post #39 of 42 Old 09-17-2012, 05:15 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordmanforever
Not to tick anyone off drugging up an old thread does anyone know how hard a rc51 speedo is to get working if you have the cluster and wiring harness?
I believe the tach is the main issue since its designed for a v-twin instead of a inline four.

I have used a Dakota Digital tach signal converter on my rally-x car. It can switch the signal to read 4-6-8-12 cylinders on a 4 cylinder tach. Not sure if they make a product for 2 to 4, but the device i used worked great.

HeliMech is offline  
post #40 of 42 Old 09-18-2012, 08:48 AM
Tirone
 
carteo76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 41
Rep Power: 1
 
This is my digital dash!!!!!



Uploaded with ImageShack.us




Uploaded with ImageShack.us

carteo76 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome