Nail in brand new tire and centerstand - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 08-12-2015, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 1
 
Nail in brand new tire and centerstand

So part of this post is to ask if anyone has ever patched, pugged, or vulcanized a motorcycle tire. I picked up a nail in my new (about 500 miles on it) power pilot rear and all the tire shops around me said they couldn't help me out. I'll spend another 200$ If I absolutely have to, but I prefer not to.

Next is to praise phobmans center stand. This thing is built like a tank and really made it easy on me. Great price, fast shipping, thanks again!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (196.4 KB, 32 views)

tim281 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 08-12-2015, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 1
 
Tire
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (318.7 KB, 47 views)

tim281 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 08-12-2015, 05:59 PM
Left of Centre
 
K1w1Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 3,490
Rep Power: 1
 
Yes, I have run with a plugged and patched tyre for a considerable distance. A local repair shop was happy to get involved. The patch on the inside seems to me to be the most important part, to ensure there is no local, specific load on the plug - after that was done, I had zero issues with my Conti motion for another 8,000km [=5,000 mi.].

Others will tell you the only place they would ride a plugged/patched tyre would be down to the store to buy a new one....

Good luck.

K1w1Boy is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 08-12-2015, 10:01 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,613
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

I rode a plugged tire for quite a while. Never had an issue.

Your puncture seems to be right down in the tread, too, in the center. Best place you could ask, lol...

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 03:09 AM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,122
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

I would plug it and go (TWSS)

marylandmike is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 05:35 AM
Silent but Deadly
 
jtaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Grottoes, VA
Posts: 176
Rep Power: 1
 
I got a roofing nail one and the local shop plugged it and patched it on the inside. I road the tire to the end of it's life with no issues. Never lost any pressure.

jtaylor is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 07:10 AM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
I'd replace it. $200 probably covers a new helmet if the plug lets loose and the bike goes down.



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 08:12 AM
Discen
 
carotman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal South Shore, Qc, Canada
Posts: 286
Rep Power: 1
 
Q: What would happen if the plug gets loose?
A: An airleak just like a nail would do...

Just get it patched at another shop. Or, you can get tire plugs and patch it yourself.

carotman is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 08:29 AM
Philanthropist
 
Dave W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: DFW
Posts: 742
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

No way would I ever plug a sport bike tire and ride it any longer than what it takes to get to safety & have it replaced.


That tiny patch of rubber is all you have between you and the road.

Dave W. is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 08:36 AM
Tesserarius
 
Nickr919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Corona
Posts: 734
Rep Power: 1
 
I had had 150 miles on my dunlop roadsmart 2 when I needed to get a Plug-patch on the tire. The plug-patch is damn near the center too. 9,000 miles later, and plenty of flogging i might add, still works and i have zero trust issues with it.

Nickr919 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 09:32 AM
Discen
 
deandeib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boothwyn
Posts: 298
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 6

I plugged my last two rear tires with no issues. Put several thousand miles on each after the plug and never had to do anything except just keep riding it. Inside surface inspection after tire replacement also showed zero evidence of problems. Gotta admit, my riding style is not what most would classify as aggressive but wouldn't hesitate to plug again if my current tire ever needed it.

deandeib is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 09:52 AM
Tesserarius
 
PHOBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 786
Rep Power: 1
 
I've used plugs and had no problems. Thanks for the kind words, it is a great product even if I do say so myself!

PHOBMAN is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 11:56 AM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,310
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by K1w1Boy View Post
Yes, I have run with a plugged and patched tyre for a considerable distance. A local repair shop was happy to get involved. The patch on the inside seems to me to be the most important part, to ensure there is no local, specific load on the plug - after that was done, I had zero issues with my Conti motion for another 8,000km [=5,000 mi.].

Others will tell you the only place they would ride a plugged/patched tyre would be down to the store to buy a new one....

Good luck.
Agreed. If a repair is done properly and its not to close to the edge it will be good for the life of the tyre.

Has anybody heard of a tyre failure from a punture repair? I have had 2 done and one was on a front PR3 which I did another 11,000ks on.

Hey Kiwiboy, what did you think of the Conti Motions? Grip and last ok? Getting close to needing tyres on the big ole Bandit.

NZspokes is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 12:54 PM
Left of Centre
 
K1w1Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 3,490
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZspokes View Post
Hey Kiwiboy, what did you think of the Conti Motions? Grip and last ok? Getting close to needing tyres on the big ole Bandit.
Yes, good feel and good grip, quite a soft-feeling compound - got 10,000km out of the rear, don't know if that's good or not - some of these guys are talking about lots more out of Pilot Roads, so you'd have to factor in the life of the tyre vs initial cost.

I did have a bead seating issue with the front, which caused it to lose pressure - there was a recall somewhere for that, so it was obviously something they needed to improve on.

K1w1Boy is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 12:59 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,310
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by K1w1Boy View Post
Yes, good feel and good grip, quite a soft-feeling compound - got 10,000km out of the rear, don't know if that's good or not - some of these guys are talking about lots more out of Pilot Roads, so you'd have to factor in the life of the tyre vs initial cost.

I did have a bead seating issue with the front, which caused it to lose pressure - there was a recall somewhere for that, so it was obviously something they needed to improve on.
Cool, Bandit eats tyres. I got 18,000ks out of PR3s on the Hornet but thats a light weight compared to the Bandit. I got 8,000 out of PR2s on it but a lot of that was 2 up. Thats changing now my beloved has her own bike to ride.

I may give the Contis a shot.

BT016rs are doing well on the Hawk. but will be lucky to get 5,000ks out of them.

NZspokes is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 02:58 PM
Robert
 
HRC27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 1,126
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
No experience with bike tires but plugged car tires with poor results. If no one will patch it, have someone like Cycle Gear remove it and have a auto tire shop patch it.

Rode 30,000 miles, till it was worn slap out, on a patched truck tire with no issues. I think a plug effects the belt where a patch won't.

Robert

2002 Honda 919
2003 Honda CRF450R
HRC27 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 04:02 PM
Optio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lousiville
Posts: 903
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran Donation 
Total Awards: 2

I've put many miles on a few tires that have been plugged from the inside, Most places are going to call it a Tee plug.

If you ride even a little bit aggressive I would replace it as soon as you can, If you are just commuting ride it to the wear bars.

That said I've also had good luck with Slime. Think of it as fix a flat , before the flat.
Once again I would not use this for fast pace riding .

tvetree is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 08-13-2015, 05:12 PM
Tirone
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 25
Rep Power: 1
 
Got a roofing nail in my tire 2 hours away from home on a Sunday night. After a two up trip to walmart on the back of my buddy's cb1100. I plugged it with a regular plug kit. Made it home, the following day it was flat.

I did buy motorcycle specific plugs after that which I have more confidence in but still.....I consider them a temporary fix.

nickmarz is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 08-14-2015, 02:58 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 1
 
thanks for the suggestions fellas. me and my buddy are going to do at least one more track day this year, so i think ill bite the bullet and get a new one. but, im going to get my old one patched and keep it around for a spare. or just to mount it up and roast it someday.

tim281 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 08-15-2015, 07:04 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
Sniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,490
Rep Power: 1
 
I've plugged a Dakota tire, and 2 back tires on the 919. Never s bit of trouble from any of them.

I think if it holds air for the first few days, you're good to go.

Sniper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome