Install f4i gages on a 919 - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 07-20-2010, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stillwater, Ok
Posts: 42
Rep Power: 1
 
Install f4i gages on a 919

https://wristtwisters.com/naked-bikes...f4i-meter.html
https://wristtwisters.com/naked-bikes...ome-919-a.html

Here are a few pages discussing the problems originally associated with the conversion, however we seem to have them worked out

1. Buy the gauges

2. Make a mount, or buy this one Honda F4i Bracket (100032) | Motocyco

3. Buy a water temp sensor for the f4i gauges. (will thread directly into the same hole, and the electric terminal is the same)

4. Go to www.vintageconnections.com and order 2 (just to be safe) 9 pin connectors. They're hp9 on the price sheet. (good company, they ship fast)

The f4i gauges have 2 female connectors, and the 919 uses 1 male and 1 female. The connection kit will have all pieces you need to rewire.
All the wires will match according to color except the illumination lead on the bike harness is the White/Green. That needs to go to the Brown/White of the meter. The extra wire is the Green/White, which the honda service manual says is for a side stand indicator, which the 919 did not have.

In order to have the fuel gauge work properly:
919 side stand switch is connected to clutch switch on the handlebars.
find the harness that goes from your clutch switch (handlebars, left side ) and locate its connectors that go to the mai harness in the headlight. Clutch switch has 2 black wires on its harness side and connects to green/red and green/white on the main harness.
splice a wire into G/W and take to side stand wire on the gauge harness (green/white on f4i harness as well)

This is not all my information, i was just so grateful for everyone who helped me. I decided i would compile the information to make it easier to find.

VoodooChild is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 07-20-2010, 09:36 PM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
this is how I hooked up the fuel gauge so I didn't have to cut open the wire to splice, I used a pointed screw driver, same one I used to pull the pin, you know the kind that is like an ice pick and opened up the pin and closed it over the new wire I was adding in, its a nice clean connection



this is how the cluster looks from the seat


Jeef is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 07-21-2010, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stillwater, Ok
Posts: 42
Rep Power: 1
 
Whats the red light? And how in gods name do you set the clock?

VoodooChild is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 07-21-2010, 02:40 PM
Ride Like You Stole It
 
websch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Lauderdale - FL
Posts: 166
Rep Power: 1
 
Can someone save this on a helpfull topics? I t would make a lot easier to find than a search....

websch is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 07-21-2010, 06:13 PM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
red light is because I haven't installed an f4i temp sensor and it is reading at 270 degrees on the tach, the red light is to let you know you are overheating and the set the time hold both buttons till it blinks, then press the bottom to set hours, then press the top to switch to minutes then the bottom again to set that, top again to finish.

Jeef is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 10:00 AM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
got my bracket from the site posted above today and mounted it, its a very tight fit but works and is solid.

to install it you need to pull the ignition cover off and remove those screws (some one tried to steal my bike before and broke the special nuts on top but they still work

just use vice grips to *lightly* pinch them and a philips head to back out the screws, I used the supplied hardware because the bolts are slightly longer and its much easier to put a 8mm bolt on than a screw.

sorry for the blurry pics, I need to clean the lens on my camera










Jeef is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 10:49 AM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
u need to clean the lense of your camera! its got somethin dead center on it haha.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 12:46 PM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
That looks nice, but our bikes redline at 9,500 RPMs... although I am not sure what the rev limiter is set to... The tach on the f4i goes up to 17,000 RPMs..?



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 05:05 PM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
yeah, but do you really need the gauge to be red to know that you shouldn't reving that high?

Jeef is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 05:27 PM
Aquilifer
 
bucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alaska
Posts: 1,249
Rep Power: 1
 
rev limiter eliminates consequences

bucky is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 05:51 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
rev limiter eliminates consequences
exactly! ya redline is at 9.5 but i think revlimit is at a 10.5k.... which is super conservative IMO.

regardless yes you will have extra space on the new tach ... those lil 600cc inline 4's rev to high heaven. haha

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 07:08 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,809
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeef View Post
this is how I hooked up the fuel gauge so I didn't have to cut open the wire to splice, I used a pointed screw driver, same one I used to pull the pin, you know the kind that is like an ice pick and opened up the pin and closed it over the new wire I was adding in, its a nice clean connection



this is how the cluster looks from the seat

I do like white faced tachos, and the F4i panel looks kind of neat, but, I would not want to end up with a tach that has only has a fraction of its face being effectively useable.
The 919 is all done before 9500 RPM and who cares about a tach below 6000 or so. So you get 3500 RPM of useable tach reading range from a face showing 0 - 15,000. In other words less than 25 % of the face is of practical use.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 07:52 PM
Aquilifer
 
curiousmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 1,264
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
In other words less than 25 % of the face is of practical use.

What's up Debbie-Downer !

curiousmike is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 08:16 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,809
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousmike View Post
What's up Debbie-Downer !
Busy looking at how to graft a white faced 10,000 RPM super tach on to the 919.
Past that, keeping too busy with stuff and not enough riding.
Only two track days so far this season.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 07-22-2010, 08:17 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,809
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousmike View Post
What's up Debbie-Downer !
Forgot to add in something else.

How about DP instead of DD ?
As in Different Perspective ?

mcromo44 is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 07-28-2010, 08:34 PM
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
I'm glad all the issues have been solved, I might do this mod later. Replace my headlight with one of them streetfighter mask.

You can get custom made back faces for the tachometer from people on E-bay.

Mr T81 is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 07-28-2010, 09:09 PM
Machine Head
 
ideajones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,168
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Link please

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
ideajones is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 07-29-2010, 12:28 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,616
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeef View Post
got my bracket from the site posted above today and mounted it, its a very tight fit but works and is solid.

to install it you need to pull the ignition cover off and remove those screws (some one tried to steal my bike before and broke the special nuts on top but they still work

just use vice grips to *lightly* pinch them and a philips head to back out the screws, I used the supplied hardware because the bolts are slightly longer and its much easier to put a 8mm bolt on than a screw.

sorry for the blurry pics, I need to clean the lens on my camera

Your left fork is lower than your right; doesn't that mess up your cornering?

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 07-29-2010, 05:57 PM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
they are the same height, the wheel is turned to the side so the right side is closer thus giving the illusion of being higher.

Jeef is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 08-04-2010, 01:09 PM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
just thought I'd throw this out there, the speedo is off by 4mph at 60mph, it says 60 actual via gps is 64, sprocket setup is 16/45 with a pilot pure tire, the odo is short 1.1 miles per 10

Jeef is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 08-04-2010, 01:29 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeef View Post
just thought I'd throw this out there, the speedo is off by 4mph at 60mph, it says 60 actual via gps is 64, sprocket setup is 16/45 with a pilot pure tire, the odo is short 1.1 miles per 10
ouch thats further off than the stock cluster..... least with the stock it read higher than what you were actually going... and odo was only off by about 2% ... or 2 miles in 100.


also... u sure those fork heights are the same.... that pic looks pretty dead straight on and those forks look like they are off by quite abit!

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 08-04-2010, 02:09 PM
919>food>beer
 
Jeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: o-town, FL
Posts: 1,151
Rep Power: 1
 
yeah, I was kinda baffled when I got 120 miles out of a tank of gas before the reserve light came on so I decided I needed to find out why. I was quite shocked it was that far off, I know others have reported the gauge being spot on, and I certainly don't have radical gearing, just 2 extra teeth in the back

Also I went out and rechecked the the forks, there were level, but defiantly not the right height. Got that all fixed now, dropped them both to 9mm above the triple

Jeef is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 08-04-2010, 02:23 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeef View Post
yeah, I was kinda baffled when I got 120 miles out of a tank of gas before the reserve light came on so I decided I needed to find out why. I was quite shocked it was that far off, I know others have reported the gauge being spot on, and I certainly don't have radical gearing, just 2 extra teeth in the back

Also I went out and rechecked the the forks, there were level, but defiantly not the right height. Got that all fixed now, dropped them both to 9mm above the triple
ya and they way you have it geared.... you should actually be reading faster rather than slower... as your output shaft has to spin faster to go the same speed as stock gearing.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 03-11-2011, 06:30 PM
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: hillsdale NJ
Posts: 25
Rep Power: 1
 
thanks for the write up. Regarding the fuel reserve notification, on a f4i gauge there are 4 progress bars when reserve comes up. when you get to 1 bar the tank is almost empty. is this functional/ accurate even on the 919?

the_shindogg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome