Horn stopped working? - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 05-27-2010, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
I WANNA RIDE!
 
garyb900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 1,480
Rep Power: 1
 
Question Horn stopped working?

My horn stopped working and I don't know why.

I have checked the horn itself and it is functional.
I have checked the fuse and it is fine.
I have checked the switch and it is working.
I checked the wiring and power is getting to the horn but no sound.

I don't know what else it could be.

Anyone got any ideas? Thanks!

garyb900 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-27-2010, 01:15 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
power might be getting to the wires at the horn... but a connection could be bad along the way so that you dont get enough amps to power then horn.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-27-2010, 01:33 PM
STR-III
 
cmurphy84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Western KY
Posts: 4,989
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Just to clarify...if you put 12 volts directly to the horn, are you getting sound?

Press Any Key To Continue.
cmurphy84 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-27-2010, 02:16 PM
Discen
 
jclong74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 264
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

The contacts in the horn my be dirty. There is a bolt with a locknut on it. Loosen the lock nut and run the bolt in, this will put the contacts together and should help get rid of any dirt on the surface, of course the horn will sound once the contacts are clean

2006 919 (Sold)
2011 Cb1000r

"oh no there ain't no rest for the wicked, until we close our eyes for good." - Cage The Elephant
jclong74 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-27-2010, 03:24 PM Thread Starter
I WANNA RIDE!
 
garyb900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 1,480
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks for all the help guys.
I figured it out. I was using my noodle properly.
I thought the horn was functional because I tired two other horns I had laying around and they didn't make any sound either so I figured it was not the horn.
Turns out all three horns I had were bad!
I went to my auto mechanic and he checked the voltage at the horn, it was good @11.56 volts. Then he hooked up a little test light he has that uses 6 amps and it lit when I pressed the horn button.
Then he took the horn off his Kawasaki and hooked it up and it worked!
So, I went next door to NAPA, bought a horn, hooked it up and BEEP!!! I have horn.
So, after all that BS I had 3 bad horns and now have a new one that works.
Thanks again for the help!

garyb900 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-27-2010, 04:43 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
LOL... what are the chances of your 2 extra horns not working... i guess they were taken off a bike / car for some reason ahha.

nd4spdbh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome