Headlight Relay/Ignition Switch Help - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 7 Old 04-24-2010, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)

Question Headlight Relay/Ignition Switch Help

I'm going to try to troubleshoot my headlights tomorrow and is in need of some help. I've got dominator headlights installed a month ago and just last week they decided to not work. I've read on a thread that an additional relay needs to be added for the extra load; from this post.

I've checked the bulbs and fuse. Both look good. I ran a meter on the plug and there's no power getting to it. I'm no expert in electrical so bare with me here.

Couple of questions:
- Where does the solder usually melt off at with an overload on the light system? The blue/white wire running into the ignition switch; as in the kill switch or the starter switch? (This info from the link above provided by RobTharalson)

- Which relay are for the headlights? I couldn't find any info on the owners manual and they're not labeled. They do have numbers on top of the rubber covers...

- What else should I be looking at to try and fix this issue?

Feel free to respond in electrical terms, I'll have a buddy with a bit more knowledge on the subject helping me out tomorrow and installing the other relay. Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-24-2010, 03:11 PM
rmb
Let's go!

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

I looked at the wiring diagram and didn't see a relay for the headlight, it looks like it's wired always on and is cut only by the hi/lo switch, possibly it is switched by the starter relay as it goes out when you start the engine. Did you check both bulbs to be sure they aren't blown( I know it's not likely)?

post #3 of 7 Old 04-24-2010, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)

Both bulbs are good. I also ran a meter to the plug and it's not getting power.