Headlight? - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
whazn919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 122
Rep Power: 1
 
Headlight?

So today on my way home i went to turn on my hi-beams and noticed the light wouldn't come on. Upon arrival at home i noticed that i had no light. I checked the fuse and connection at the rear of the light, as well as the filament on the light. I don't have a voltmeter where i'm at tho i might possibly be able to borrow one until the weekend tonight. Any advice would be appreciated, i will most likely just start checking for voltage closer and closer to my power source starting at the plug for the light.

whazn919 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,563
Rep Power: 0
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Print out a copy of the wiring diagram and get the voltmeter.
Post up when you're ready and we'll help you along...

Sokali is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 08:06 PM
Fool in the Rain
 
HondaJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 10,284
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 4

Check the inside of the left pod and make sure the wiring isn't bad there.

"Towards the end of the vid, it looks like she may have had a bafflectomy." - MarylandMike
HondaJim is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 08:19 PM
Discen
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 208
Rep Power: 1
 
if i remember right the highbeam light comes on when the headlight goes out? I think because my bike when i got it the bulb went bad 2 weeks later.

Personally i'd try a new bulb first. they might look fine but easy cannot. I say always start at the easiest.

barmatt80 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 10:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 134
Rep Power: 0
 
if u have the $$, get a cooler looking headlight...i got mine off ebay for about 65 shipped. acerbis cyclops. not hard to wire up either, and all the lights work

rtman70 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 11:29 PM
Tirone
 
cbf900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Geraldton, Western Australia
Posts: 56
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by whazn919 View Post
So today on my way home i went to turn on my hi-beams and noticed the light wouldn't come on. Upon arrival at home i noticed that i had no light. I checked the fuse and connection at the rear of the light, as well as the filament on the light. I don't have a voltmeter where i'm at tho i might possibly be able to borrow one until the weekend tonight. Any advice would be appreciated, i will most likely just start checking for voltage closer and closer to my power source starting at the plug for the light.
i had this problem last year, my head light had no power goin to it. the reason was because there is a blue/white wire from the headlight circuit going up to the starter button- the light goes out while starter button is pressed so it wont over work the battery- this wire had come lose. we soldered it back on and the headlight worked again.

also you might be interested to know that i use a 130w/100w lightglobe

cbf900 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-05-2009, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
whazn919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 122
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks for the tip i will check it out tomorrow. the PO had installed a 100w bulb and it looked like it was frying the connector. It's not too toasty, i've seen more sensitive electronics work with worse, but still that seems to be the reason why the connector had obviously gotten warm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbf900 View Post
i had this problem last year, my head light had no power goin to it. the reason was because there is a blue/white wire from the headlight circuit going up to the starter button- the light goes out while starter button is pressed so it wont over work the battery- this wire had come lose. we soldered it back on and the headlight worked again.

also you might be interested to know that i use a 130w/100w lightglobe

whazn919 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-05-2009, 08:36 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,563
Rep Power: 0
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbf900 View Post
i had this problem last year, my head light had no power goin to it. the reason was because there is a blue/white wire from the headlight circuit going up to the starter button- the light goes out while starter button is pressed so it wont over work the battery- this wire had come lose. we soldered it back on and the headlight worked again.
+1 That's the only problem I've had with the electrical system.

Sokali is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome