Header Install Help? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 11 Old 11-01-2007, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

Header Install Help?

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to the forum. Haven't really posted in the past few months that I've been lurking, but now I have reason to. I've got the 919 exhaust stink!
I've bought the parts to swap my exhaust to a CBR900RR setup from ebay. I've got a black '94 header and a carbon D&D can, as well as the gaskets for the installation. I'm going to re-paint the headers with high temp black paint tomorrow evening and install everything over the weekend.
Anyone have any tips? This is the first major mod I've done to any of my bikes that I've had. I'm not a novice around tools, but I've never really done any wrenching on my bikes. Should I use lock-tite on any of the bolts? What about a sealant on the gaskets? I don't have a torque wrench, so torque specs are useless to me. I don't know if I'm going to have to fab anything for the exhaust mounts yet. I'll probably have to have someone else do that for me locally - I don't have any machining tools. Thanks for your input and advise in advance! I'm stoked about my new exhaust!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 11-01-2007, 08:18 PM
Mc 9er

can't help you much with your delimma,somone will chime in soon...meanwhile,welcome to the site

c 9er
silver,the fasted colour
post #3 of 11 Old 11-02-2007, 06:11 AM
Tired of Tirone

Search the forum.

I think there is a write-up somewhere in here from someone who has gone that way before.

Welcome

post #4 of 11 Old 11-02-2007, 06:50 AM
Pilus Posterior

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

https://www.wristtwisters.com/forum/s...br900rr+single