Electrical/Lighting Question - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 09-24-2008, 05:16 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
STPDSQD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 101
Rep Power: 1
 
Electrical/Lighting Question

It was pointed out to me this morning that none of my rear running lights are working. I checked the brake and blinkers and they are fine. The front running lights are also fine. I look at the fuse and they are fine. all lights appear to be on the same circuit. I have a 2002 919, are the rear running lights (including the tail light) wired in series so that if one goes out they all go out? This seems like a bad idea but I guess you cut cost where you can.

I figured that since the blinkers and break lights work the harnesses must be secure. Anything else I should check?

Thanks,

Jason

I got no time for the jibba-jabba. - Mr. T
STPDSQD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-24-2008, 07:35 AM
Legatus Legionis
 
SV650s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The woods of CT
Posts: 9,680
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Community Leadership Donation Donation Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 6

1. Have you done any modifications to the stock lighting?
2. Have you tried replacing the dual filament bulbs? It might be something that simple.
3. It can't be a grounding issue otherwise the brake lights would not work.
4. The 3 pin connector in the tail section supplies 12volts and ground to the rear brake/tail lights. The harness side of this connector has a White/Gray wire, the mating plug has a Brown wire. Test both of these wires for 12volts.

Report back...

SV650s is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-24-2008, 08:03 AM
STR-III
 
cmurphy84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Western KY
Posts: 4,989
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

My rear turn signals do not function as running lights and didn't think they were supposed to. Are they supposed to be running lights too?

cmurphy84 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 09-24-2008, 08:06 AM
Legatus Legionis
 
SV650s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The woods of CT
Posts: 9,680
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Community Leadership Donation Donation Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmurphy84 View Post
My rear turn signals do not function as running lights and didn't think they were supposed to. Are they supposed to be running lights too?
Rear turn signals are single filament, no running lights.

SV650s is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-24-2008, 08:08 AM
Milites Gregarius
 
hawkeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: oklahoma city ok
Posts: 172
Rep Power: 1
 
The rear brake light/running light are dual filament bulbs if one of your bulbs has a filament out that operates your running light the other will still work. I just had one of mine go out recently. It could be that both bulbs are bad, always check the simplest and cheapest fix first.

hawkeze is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-24-2008, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
STPDSQD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 101
Rep Power: 1
 
Good call. I assumed that since the front signals were running lights that the rear ones would be too. I guess I never noticed before. It's probably one of the filiments in the taillight then, I'll grab one on the way home. Anyone have the part number/size off hand? Should be something I can get at AutoZone right? Worst case there is a Honda dealer on the way home as well.

I got no time for the jibba-jabba. - Mr. T
STPDSQD is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-26-2008, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
STPDSQD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 101
Rep Power: 1
 
It was a bad bulb. There are two, if one goes the both go. $6 for both.

I got no time for the jibba-jabba. - Mr. T
STPDSQD is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 09-27-2008, 07:26 PM
Optio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lousiville
Posts: 903
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by STPDSQD View Post
It was a bad bulb. There are two, if one goes the both go. $6 for both.
Not really, just bad timing.I've replaced 2 sets.each time one went out the other still worked.Now beings the bulbs come in packs of two I replaced both,and toss the other in the spare parts bin.


Which means I'll never find it when I need them,so I'll replace two the next time also.

tvetree is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome