Diablo Strada? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 9 Old 05-10-2006, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

Diablo Strada?

I've got a worn out front on my 919 (cupped beyond belief). I happen to have a brand new Diablo Strada 120/70 that I got for $25 when I bought a rear for my SV650 (sold to get a 919). The rear Dunlop on the 919 is new and in great shape. So when I bought the bike I figured I'd just put my Strada on it... HOWEVER...

I am scheduled for my first track day on 7/9/06 and I expect to take it easy since I've never done this before. I just wonder if I should forgo my original plan and just buy a set of Pilot Powers at the track ($25 off the set and I think they mount them for free). I'm honest with myself, this is a street bike, even if I love track days I'm too cheap to do it more than once or twice per year so the Strada seemed like an ideal tire for my street riding use but I'm not so sure about it's track day potential.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-10-2006, 09:32 AM
tomvan72

Just be carefull about mixing tires. If you rear is an OEM tire, the diablo will have much more grip and cause an over steer situation. This may cause for the back end to step out without warning.

post #3 of 9 Old 05-10-2006, 09:37 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomvan72
Just be carefull about mixing tires. If you rear is an OEM tire, the diablo will have much more grip and cause an over steer situation. This may cause for the back end to step out without warning.

The rear is not OEM, it's a Dunlop 220 I think... I'll check that when I get home. The bike came with Michelin "Hi Sport" tires (the front is original)

post #4 of 9 Old 05-10-2006, 09:54 AM
Legatus Legionis

Awards Showcase
Community Leadership Donation Donation Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 6