Countershaft / sprocket wobble? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 48 Old 03-08-2012, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
Tirone

Countershaft / sprocket wobble?

Bear with me, I'm still learning about motorcycle maintenance and diagnosing issues.

I took off the sprocket cover on the 919 to try and find where some new vibrations were coming from. On a rear stand, I started her up, put it into first, and noticed that the countershaft / front sprocket is spinning out of round, causing a "clicking" sound with the chain.

Are there bearings that could be shot? Or another factor to cause this? The bike has about 8k miles on it, and gets ridden hard from time to time.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 Old 03-08-2012, 11:31 AM
The Cripple

clam down, its a honda... it's very unlikely that the bearings could be shot. first thing we need to know is, are the sprockets oem?

second thing is: is your chain properly aligned?

3rd thing: is your chain properly cleaned/lubed? not stretched/kinked in certain areas?

get back to us with this info and we'll be able to help you more.

post #3 of 48 Old 03-08-2012, 12:26 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

can you post some video of what you are describing? I am envisioning excessive runout at the counter shaft sprocket... but could also see binding chain links tricking you into thinking the sprocket is out of round

if you love your motorcycle, set it free.. if it comes back and hits you.. you highsided
post #4 of 48 Old 03-08-2012, 01:37 PM
`

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

take the chain off first to check if it's actually your sprocket that wobbles. If it the sprocket nut got loose, torque it down and hopefully damage wasn't done.
If it's tight and whole thing is wobbling, you have bigger problems.

post #5 of 48 Old 03-08-2012, 01:50 PM
The Cripple

Quote: