Could cold weather possibly hurt MPG? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 20 Old 11-02-2007, 07:45 AM Thread Starter
Tirone

Could cold weather possibly hurt MPG?

Here is the story: I've been commuting on my 03 919 for the past 5 months or so. Constantly, I get 50 (give or take one tenth) in MPG. I only ride it between work and home. However, when I filled up the tank yesterday, I noticed the MPG dropped to 46.5. I am really puzzled. The only things that have changed during the past week were: colder temperature (low 40's) in the morning and I bumped up the tire pressure to 36 psi. Everything else was pretty much unchanged. Could this be something like dirty air filter?
Any idea?
Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 11-02-2007, 07:50 AM
INFIDEL

Awards Showcase
BOTM Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 2

I've heard it has something to do with the gas formulation during the Winter (or colder) months. I drove over to New Orleans a few years ago during Christmas time, and I averaged 13-15mpg in my Tacoma. Even though my Taco is lifted, I was surprised. I was then told that the gas formulation in the Winter is different, resulting in poorer mileage. Maybe higher levels of Ethanol?

post #3 of 20 Old 11-02-2007, 07:58 AM

Awards Showcase
Donation BOTM 

thye do change formulation of the fuels we get for the winter, but, normally the more dense air compensates for that - Did you switch gas stations ? Ive noticed i constantly get better milage with Exxon vs. BP for some strange reason - Ive been able to duplicate it over several tanks in both my bikes and truck.
Its always work checking your air filter, its amazing how crappy those things get ! Ive also niticed that In my truck, my milage drops as it gets closer to oil change time - stange , but, about 3500 miles I loose 1 or 2 mpg , this has been constant since 4.5k miles and my truck now has 65k on it.

post #4 of 20 Old 11-02-2007, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Tirone