Classic Nighthawk 650 - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 13 Old 03-21-2010, 06:39 AM Thread Starter
Tirone

Classic Nighthawk 650

A buddy of mine has an old 1983 Nighthawk 650 (classic naked!) that he's willing to sell me for $500. Cosmetically, it obviously needs a solid detail. A friend of his laid it down in their driveway 2 years ago and it's been sitting ever since. The turn signals need to be replaced, the tent has a small tent from where the turn signal made contact when it fell, the bars are slightly bent, and the seat has a small tear in it.

I drove the 9'er up to his place yesterday and we were able to fire it up after connecting jumper cables. Runs solid, but I think the carbs need to be cleaned (the 2nd carb had gas dripping out of the vapor vent). It will also need a new battery.

Bottom line is this: I want to buy it. He's willing to give it to me for $500. I'll post pictures later (sorry, didn't think to take any). Think it's worth it? I'm fairly new to bikes and I am not comfortable with ripping my 9'er down at this point in the season (it just started!). Granted, I know this bike is very different from the 9'er (carbs and drive shaft being the main diffs), but it should be fun regardless. Any and all comments would be appreciated.

Oh, and it does have the original manual and he also has a Clymer shop manual.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 03-21-2010, 06:51 AM
Fool in the Rain

Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 4

Nice bikes. I would suggest looking at how much you think you'll end up putting into it and see where that puts you for a total cost. Even with your own labor the parts can add up quickly and you're left with a bike that is only worth a certain amount.

I know because I've done it, and even knowing that I'd do it again.

"Towards the end of the vid, it looks like she may have had a bafflectomy." - MarylandMike