Bar Mount Question - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 05:50 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
SC_AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbia
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 1
 
Bar Mount Question

Happy Saturday,

In the beginning stages of redoing some items on the new to me 919. Not being one to reinvent the wheel, going with some Renthal UL's. The question I have is this: if the bike currently wears protaper bars with protaper bar mounts, do I simply need to get OEM bar mounts from somewhere online?

The bar currently mounted measures 1 1/8 (inch).

Thank you!

Will
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bars.jpg (207.3 KB, 26 views)

SC_AV8R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 06:27 AM
StormSurfer
 
Whiplash97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northwest corner
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Yep, but why? You not like the tapers?

:buell:
Whiplash97 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
SC_AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbia
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 1
 
Not particularly, plus they have been damaged on the ends (I don't want to cut them), just want to start fresh in this and other areas.

SC_AV8R is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 12:41 PM
StormSurfer
 
Whiplash97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northwest corner
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Lots of different mounts on eBay for cheap, I got some universals for my Z for pretty cheap

image-1338174772.jpg

:buell:
Whiplash97 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 02:27 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,350
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Sorry, the lower half of the handlebar mount is cast into the upper triple clamp -- it will require either the OEM top caps, or aftermarket caps made to the same spec, unlikely considering the minimal demand.

Ronayers.com Microfiche Honda>Motorcycle>2007>CB900F>HANDLEBAR / TOP BRIDGE
Look for index #11. Of course you will need two and the 4 allen bolts. At $15 each for the clamps and $5 max for the 8 x 32 x 1.25 thread pitch bolts it's not too bad a deal.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 02:39 PM
StormSurfer
 
Whiplash97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northwest corner
Posts: 6,039
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Search eBay (Honda cb handle bar clamps) there's a crap load of them

:buell:
Whiplash97 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
SC_AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbia
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 1
 
Thank you all for the input, I appreciate it!

SC_AV8R is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome