Are those Acumen GP8 gear indicators worth their price? - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 08:39 AM
hairball919
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Are those Acumen GP8 gear indicators worth their price?

I know one thing, they sure look cool (and I wanna be cool, man!).

They sure cost a LOT for their size, but I guess LED's are never really cheap. I did find one for $77 plus shipping in the UK but EVERYthing I've ordered from the UK takes about a MONTH to get! Seriously, I've order about 6 CD's from Amazon Sellers in the UK that all took about a month (some longer) to get! Anyway, I wanna get one of those Acumen GP8 things for my bike regardless of where I get it.

I'm tired of trying to shift into 7th gear on the highways!

But I still can't figure out if they are worth $110-$130 plus shipping (more if you want the bezel). And how would I mount it on a 919?

I'd like to know before I buy one if anyone else has any positive or negative things to say about them. Of course all the sites that sell them have positive reviews posted about them, but like too many online retailers, they only have to post the good ones.

http://www.riderstation.com/DG8.php
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ACUMEN-GEARINDICATOR-DG8-2.jpg (19.9 KB, 7 views)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 08:44 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
zookmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, Ga.
Posts: 2,760
Rep Power: 1
 
I try to shift into 7th all the time, but I don't think its worth getting a gear indicator, because I like the simplicity of the 919 and that would clutter things up a bit.

'04 919---40k----6/18/10 SOLD

http://s603.photobucket.com/home/ZookMor/index
zookmor is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 09:26 AM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

i attempt to shift into 7th all the time.......... mehh... i don't need a l.e.d. cluttering up my bike.......



Pacojerte is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 09:40 AM
Cornicen
 
Fishfilet300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicken country, Maryland
Posts: 504
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Oh thank God. I thought I was the only one constantly trying to shifting up to 7th!!!

There's your plan and then there's God's plan.........
Your's doesn't matter.
Fishfilet300 is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 09:41 AM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

I can count.

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 09:48 AM
Pilus Posterior
 
3dcycle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St Johnsbury
Posts: 2,026
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration 
Total Awards: 5

me too i just have a bad memory and forget where i am.

3dcycle is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 09:54 AM
I'm going riding.
 
scrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Fargo, ND
Posts: 1,274
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

i added a +1 sprocket in the front... it brought the revs down quite a bit when i'm on the highway, and puts the motor in a nice cozy spot. I don't look for 7th anymore. and I can still clutch it up in 3rd if i need to (only to clear road hazards of course). $20, 20 minutes, and now my speedo is almost dead on. cheap and easy fix for a few issues!

30,000 mile 919 survivor. No plans of stopping the abuse any time soon.
scrat is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 09:54 AM
Tom
Immune
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niceville
Posts: 392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 3

A company named Datatool makes a different version of the same device.

The Datatool product is called a "DiGi". I have one, and I enjoy it.

It isn't crucial to riding, shifting, safety, economy, or counting gears.

I didn't need it, but I wanted it...like a number of other items that wound up somehow attached to my bike.

I will show you the mount if you are curious...

Tom is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 10:08 AM
a.k.a. Macgruber
 
omaha_919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,194
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom View Post
I will show you the mount if you are curious...
Heck yeah, show us your DiGi Tom

Abba Zaba, you my only friend.
omaha_919 is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 10:14 AM
hairball919
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sure, Tom! Sounds cool. And like you, nothing on my bike was really "needed", but I gotta have all the cool toys! (Dont EVEN ask me about my recent all-Kenwood car stereo stuff; that's an entire novel to describe!) Hey, I gotta have cool stuff and I also like to KNOW what gear I'm in. Sure, I can count, and I can remember (most of the time) but once in awhile it's nice to have an indicator. I was just talking to a guy on the phone last night (a Craig-Flake, but still, he rides a bike) who mentioned how many of the bikes in the 80's had gear indicators from the factory. So, seems like even the manufactors saw a need. (I still see them on some sport bikes!)

Thanks! I'll google that one you mentioned in the mean time.

post #11 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 10:16 AM
hairball919
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
http://www.datatool.co.uk/consumer/p...p?product=digi

The Datatool® Digital Gear Indicator is suitable for use on motorcycles equipped with an electronic speedometer and rev counter. The system gives a visual indication of the gear in use for up to 8 gear ratios, stopping you looking for a gear that isn't there. Installation is simple, with a programming mode to teach it the relationships of your speedometer and rev counter. The DiGi also comes with auto-dim for night time use.
The DiGi can now also be supplied specifically for bikes fitted with a mechanical speedo.

 Suitable for most machines equipped with electronic Speedo and Tach
 Wheel sensor kit version available for machines equipped with cable driven Speedo
 Can be programmed with up to 8 gears Hey, look! Perfect for a 919!
 Re-programmable for instances of wheel or sprocket change sizes
 Auto dimming to minimise glare in dim light but maximise display when bright
 Re-programmable at any time to suit your changing requirements

Just checked Bike-Specifics, and nothing listed for 919/Hornet! Bummer!

post #12 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:02 AM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Ok, ok, my FJR has a gear indicator and I find it helpful, but the 919 is a NAKED bike.

Actually the FJR just pisses me off because it only goes to 5.

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:18 AM
Optio
 
9nineteen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles (Newhall)
Posts: 842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation BOTM 
Total Awards: 2

I installed an Acumen on my buddy's F4i. It is a cool piece. He loves it. . .especially that he needs to keep his 600 on the boil.

9nineteen is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:27 AM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbeau1960 View Post
Ok, ok, my FJR has a gear indicator and I find it helpful, but the 919 is a NAKED bike.

Actually the FJR just pisses me off because it only goes to 5.
soooooooo... you hunt for 6th then???



Pacojerte is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:35 AM
Curmudgeon
 
semi_gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 899
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation Veteran 
Total Awards: 3

I have been using the Acumen indicator for about four years now. I love it.
I made an aluminum panel that fits above the gauges and within the Givi A755 wind screen. I have pics, but cannot access my photobucket account from work. I can post pics later.

I plan to die young, as late as possible.
semi_gray is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:35 AM
Optio
 
9nineteen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles (Newhall)
Posts: 842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation BOTM 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairball919 View Post

Just checked Bike-Specifics, and nothing listed for 919/Hornet! Bummer!
There is an Acumen universal unit that you NEED to solder in the wires (which I did with my buddy's F4i) since there is no piggy-back connector. . .tedious but EZ. After it was done, it looked like the factory had done it.

I'm sure Datatool® Digital Gear may have a universal unit available as well.

9nineteen is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:35 AM
My friends call me Bill
 
REDROKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 1,893
Blog Entries: 2
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

if i take my hands off the grips i can count to seven





REDROKR is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 11:59 AM
hairball919
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Still contemplating but need even MORE product advice!

Geez, I just don't give my wallet any rest!

More important to me than a cool gear indicator, really, is braided steel brake lines. Not just cool, but very functional and a good investment.

PLEASE, my friends (you ARE my friends, right?) read my post in the Brake Line thread that magically appears at the top of every thread.

I need advice and help in choosing a brand and finding a good price.

Thanks, my friends!

OH, PS... I can only imagine that semi_gray builds better mounts for his indicator than the world has available! His pairs plates sure are sweet!

post #19 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 12:02 PM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by barton664 View Post
soooooooo... you hunt for 6th then???
Nah, with 141hp and 99ft/lb torque it pretty much doesn't matter what gear you're in.

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 12:11 PM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairball919 View Post
Geez, I just don't give my wallet any rest!

More important to me than a cool gear indicator, really, is braided steel brake lines. Not just cool, but very functional and a good investment.

PLEASE, my friends (you ARE my friends, right?) read my post in the Brake Line thread that magically appears at the top of every thread.

I need advice and help in choosing a brand and finding a good price.

Thanks, my friends!

OH, PS... I can only imagine that semi_gray builds better mounts for his indicator than the world has available! His pairs plates sure are sweet!
I chose Galfer, here's my photo installation thread:

https://www.wristtwisters.com/forum/s...ghlight=Galfer

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 01:57 PM
Pilus Posterior
 
3dcycle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St Johnsbury
Posts: 2,026
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration 
Total Awards: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairball919 View Post
Geez, I just don't give my wallet any rest!

More important to me than a cool gear indicator, really, is braided steel brake lines. Not just cool, but very functional and a good investment.

PLEASE, my friends (you ARE my friends, right?) read my post in the Brake Line thread that magically appears at the top of every thread.

I need advice and help in choosing a brand and finding a good price.

Thanks, my friends!

OH, PS... I can only imagine that semi_gray builds better mounts for his indicator than the world has available! His pairs plates sure are sweet!
yea ill be your freind..... as long as when you buy parts you buy double and send the extra to me

3dcycle is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 03:07 PM
The 919 project continues
 
mdtoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,427
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

I was going to mention the Datatool gear indicator as well. I'm not sure if it's exactly the same as the Acumen, but at $89 it's a bit cheaper.

I've had my eye on this for a few months now but have been way too busy to take on another project. I want one but it'll have to wait a few months.

mdtoney is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 03:17 PM
The 919 project continues
 
mdtoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,427
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Tom, how hard was the install on the Datatool unit? Some of the reviews I've read say it took 5 hours to install...

mdtoney is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 04:55 PM
BrokeRecord
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Monroe,La
Posts: 1,180
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Honda was always so good about putting the lil light on for hi gear. Must have cost $5 at the factory.

[
brokerecord is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 06:02 PM
Tom
Immune
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niceville
Posts: 392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 3

I have had the Datatool DiGi for over 2 years. There was no 919-specific plug-and-play DiGi unit available at that time...it sounds like there is still no such unit.

I used the universal unit. The Datatool instructions are good, but I found a website that included a step-by-step photo installation tutorial that was excellent. All the connecting wires are soldered to wiring located inside the headlight shell on the 919. It is easy to access the appropriate wires.

Like 9nineteen said, installation is "tedious but EZ".

mdtoney, it does not take 5 hours to install. It took me an hour to make the soldered connections and about another hour to cram everything back inside the headlight shell and get the damn thing tightly closed again.

Programming the installed unit involves running the bike through the gears and touching a bare wire-end from the unit's wire bundle to the bike frame...so a center stand helps a lot. The programming is no big deal, as you can do it over and over again until you get it right.

I have had no problems with it since installation.

The photo below shows my mounting point: right above the idiot light cluster (Radio Shack super hold plastic velcro), nested down inside a Buell M2 fly screen. Here the fly screen looks lopsided because I took the photo leaning over the left side of the bike. In reality everything is symmetrical. Gears are indicated on this unit by large red numbers. In neutral or with the clutch pulled in, the individual led number segments spin around the display like a pinwheel.



Tom is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 06:11 PM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Nicely done Tom, looks like it belongs there.

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 03-04-2009, 07:51 PM
Immune
 
snowytgr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manassas VA
Posts: 343
Rep Power: 1
 
I have the acumen and it was an easy install. This one does not have the wire you have to ground to get it into programing mode it has a plastic pin that you push in a switch on the top of the indicator. The only problem (if you consider it a problem) is sometimes there is a lag in showing what gear your in. It happens up shifting and down shifting but not all the time. I used the velcro that came with it to mount it above the cluster. I am looking for a better way to mount it but have not come up with anything yet, also when I just took this picture I noticed the bottom right corner is coming up where it was stuck to the housing and I will have to glue it back down.

[/IMG]

snowytgr1 is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 07:07 AM
hairball919
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Saw the pic of the Acumen on Tom's bike and had to ask myself (and Tom)...

what's that little thing on your tach? A clock? If not, what is it? I like anything digital and cool. I gotta have one!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dash.jpg (35.8 KB, 10 views)

post #29 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 07:12 AM
Tom
Immune
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niceville
Posts: 392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairball919 View Post
Saw the pic of the Acumen on Tom's bike and had to ask myself (and Tom)...

what's that little thing on your tach? A clock? If not, what is it? I like anything digital and cool. I gotta have one!
That's a digital clock from Honda accessories, UK. I think the specific source was David Silvers Spares.

Tom is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 07:14 AM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Pre-'04 919's had no clock. Personally I figure time does not affect me when I'm on my 919, so I'm sans timepiece.

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
post #31 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 09:55 AM
Tom
Immune
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niceville
Posts: 392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbeau1960 View Post
Pre-'04 919's had no clock. Personally I figure time does not affect me when I'm on my 919, so I'm sans timepiece.
I think that, on a daily basis, "sans timepiece" is THE way to go.

On the other hand, when I am touring I target waypoints along my routes with realistic ETAs as a soft and flexible challenge, working within the framework of breaking camp by 5AM and setting up the new camp by 3 PM.

Tom is offline  
post #32 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 10:30 AM
hairball919
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

I agree. I certainly wish the 919/Hornet had more functions for their digital display besides clock (my model), odometer, and trip meters. Elapsed Time would be nice for calculating trip times (better if they automatically stopped when the bike did!).

Well, I did it!

I ordered the DataTool Digi indicator!
It was much cheaper than ANYONE had the Acumen!

The cheapest I could find the Datatool model (although I KNOW everyone will point out cheaper ones like happened on all the other stuff I thought I had found the best price on) was $76 at www.indysuperbikes.com

http://indysuperbike.com/customer/pr...t=31670&page=1

I just kept searching Google. Prices ranged from $76 to over $150!

I'm stoked and hope it installs easy.

I do appreciate everyone's input and cool pictures!

Thanks, Tom, for introducing me to the Datatool DiGi !!

post #33 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 04:08 PM
Tom
Immune
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niceville
Posts: 392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Extraordinary Ride Donation 
Total Awards: 3

hairball919,

Nice going. Glad I could help. Good luck with the Datatool DiGi.

The installation info I used in addition to the Datatool documentation can be found at: http://www.hondahornet.co.uk/DIGIGEA...ORINSTALL.html

It is worth a look as it will help you visualize the installation process.

Tom is offline  
post #34 of 34 Old 03-05-2009, 04:29 PM
orange
 
sbeau1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 9,193
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Community Service 
Total Awards: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom View Post
I think that, on a daily basis, "sans timepiece" is THE way to go.

On the other hand, when I am touring I target waypoints along my routes with realistic ETAs as a soft and flexible challenge, working within the framework of breaking camp by 5AM and setting up the new camp by 3 PM.
I do understand that as I enjoy the trip computer on the FJR, find myself cycling through the functions frequently. I strictly use the 919 for storming the back roads and ripping around town though so I don't miss the additional instrumentation I guess.

Although Gin's '04 599 has a clock and TWO trip odometers!

Superduke
R1200GS
XR650L
sbeau1960 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome