2007 Tuono stall during emegency breaking - Wrist Twisters
 7Likes
  • 2 Post By robtharalson
  • 5 Post By Todd F. Smith
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 06-23-2020, 08:48 AM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
2007 Tuono stall during emegency breaking

Good Afternoon All,

Just finished fixing few issues with my 2007 Tuono. (ECU updated and Re-mapped to map 2 w/ O2 Delete, Rplaced Gas/ lines and qiring harness for the fuel, replaced a few other hoses that needed to be changed, and Cleaned the stepper motor.
Runs great BUUUUT.... Now she stalls out during hard/ Emegency breaking/ stops and will not restart untill I turn her of then back on again. Also There were no codes when I checked.

Any thoughts?

Todd F. Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-23-2020, 09:20 AM
LDH
Test Rider
 
LDH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: by the ocean
Posts: 4,464
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Referral Award 
Total Awards: 2

What is the idle set at?

LDH is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-23-2020, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Cold start around just under 1500 (Lets say 1400) omce warmed up arond 1200.

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-23-2020, 04:26 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
LDH,

Sorry, that is what the idle is. Not sure how to set the idle or check qhat it is aet at.

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-24-2020, 01:12 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,463
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

If there is a tipover sensor it may be incorrectly mounted or is malfunctioning, resulting in a stalled motor under heavy braking. It's the only function that requires cycling the key, at least I think so. It is , after all, Italian, and therefore marches to the beat of a different drummer. The problem could be in the vehicle next to you and the Tuono dies in sympathy.

Find a wiring diagram and take it from there.

Rob
badmoon692008 and Islandboy like this.

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-24-2020, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
L.O.L.... I ike the sympathy angle 😄

I tried a couple of things today just to see if it woild keep the bike from stalling and they worked
Unfortunatly I have no clue what it means or if it was bad for the bike Dooooh 😮

1) keept the throttle open a little when coming to a sudden stop(only from 20mph) and that kept it from stalling out.

2) Also gave the throttle a good goose right before full stop also stoped her from stalling. (like bliping the throttle on a down shift)

Any thoughts guys?

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-24-2020, 02:53 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by robtharalson View Post
If there is a tipover sensor it may be incorrectly mounted or is malfunctioning, resulting in a stalled motor under heavy braking. It's the only function that requires cycling the key, at least I think so. It is , after all, Italian, and therefore marches to the beat of a different drummer. The problem could be in the vehicle next to you and the Tuono dies in sympathy.

Find a wiring diagram and take it from there.

Rob

Rob You are an EFFING GENIUS!!!! 😄 😄 😄
All hail Rob the all knowing.

The mechanics at the shop put the tip over sensor back in the wrong spot.
Guess Im never going back there again!

Thank you

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-25-2020, 12:16 AM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,463
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Glad I could help.

Imagine what would have happened if you pulled a wheelie, and when it almost got to the balance point the tipover sensor kills the motor, the front slams to the ground, and you sing soprano for the next week.

On a completely different note: does your Tuono have fatbars? And if so what is the diameter of the center section? Thinking of expanding the Thar Bar range.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by robtharalson View Post
Glad I could help.

Imagine what would have happened if you pulled a wheelie, and when it almost got to the balance point the tipover sensor kills the motor, the front slams to the ground, and you sing soprano for the next week.

On a completely different note: does your Tuono have fatbars? And if so what is the diameter of the center section? Thinking of expanding the Thar Bar range.

Rob
Yeah that would have really ended the weel on a high note. L.O.L...

Running standrd bars curently BUT would live a set of Thars for it!! 😄.

How would I measure that for you?

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-02-2020, 06:18 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,463
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd F. Smith View Post
Running standrd bars curently BUT would live a set of Thars for it!! 😄.

How would I measure that for you?
A pair of calipers or a micrometer would be ideal, but lacking that simply a piece of small gauge wire or a length of dental floss wrapped around the central part of the bar and cut so the ends meet, then laying it flat on a ruler will give you the circumference of the center of the bar. Divide that by 3.1415 and you have the diameter. If the length is just under 4 inches it's diameter is 1 1/4", if around 3 1/2", it's 1 1/8". Any other length is a very oddball size or metric. Regardless, it will be useful information.

Also if you could take a picture of the center of the handlebar with a clearly marked ruler in the picture I can determine the width of the clamp assembly, and anything else that may get in the way, such as preload adjusters. Kind of important!

I appreciate any info you can give me, and if it pans out I'll give you a substantial discount on a set.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-03-2020, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Rob

Here are a few Pics with a ruler and a caliper.
Just a quick note: I am the 2nd owner of the bike and have done no mods to it. I believe the bike is set up with stock bars and riser.

- The first 4 pics are the with of the clamps/ risers.(1-4)

- The next 2 pics are the height of the clamps/ risers (5 & 6)

- The next 2 pics after that are the of the height of the fork adjusters (7 & 8

- The next 2 pics after that are the diatance from The riser and the bar to the Speedo (9 & 10)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200703_175058_1593817749716.jpg (137.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_175418_1593817774286.jpg (116.3 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_183222_1593817805969.jpg (142.5 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_183414_1593817831746.jpg (141.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_175952_1593817861840.jpg (111.2 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_180217_1593817898324.jpg (106.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_175802_1593818004785.jpg (115.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_180347_1593818033996.jpg (90.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_181025_1593818805408.jpg (122.2 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_192341_1593818828566.jpg (125.6 KB, 5 views)

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-03-2020, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Rob,

Pics continued:

- The first pic is distance from clamp/ riser to fork adjust. (1)

- The next 2 pic afer that ar the caliper at the middle of the bar and the clamp/ riser (the calper is upside down in the clamp pic. (2 & 3)

-The llast 2 pics are the calper at the end of the bar (4 &5)


Hope these help (Let me know if the calper measures were correct. Never used a digital one before.) Please let me know if you have any questions or feedback (I can handle it L.O.L...)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200703_183522_1593819869147.jpg (126.5 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_182144_1593820078210.jpg (120.7 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_182328_1593820100019.jpg (136.9 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_184559_1593820124135.jpg (127.0 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20200703_184921_1593820141943.jpg (130.3 KB, 4 views)

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-04-2020, 05:31 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,463
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Excellent! I could practically draft up the triple clamp from those measurements.

One point: the measurements of the bar diameter at the controls shows 0.025" too small, which when adding the difference to the center makes 1.115", close enough for the stock I have on hand. Was the caliper zeroed before measuring? If not all you have to do is wipe the mating faces of the jaws clean, close them completely, then zero it. Your measurements will be much more accurate. Once you have done that I'd appreciate it if you would remeasure the center of the bar. I want to get this right the first time.

It looks like my bars may fit, but the preload / damping adjusters my prove to have a clearance problem if the clamp assembly is rotated much past vertical. We'll see.

How wide do you normally prefer? The standard handle pieces maximum width is ~29", depending on the pullback. I have tried to extoll the virtues of narrow bars to my customers but it is an uphill battle. At the moment my 919 has (obviously) my bars set at 22 3/4" to the ends of the grips, and as low as they can go, barely clearing the tank. For me it is suitable for hard canyon carving and hours long drones to GKW with no discomfort. But that, apparently, is just me.

I'll keep you in the loop.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-05-2020, 07:43 AM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by robtharalson View Post
Excellent! I could practically draft up the triple clamp from those measurements.

One point: the measurements of the bar diameter at the controls shows 0.025" too small, which when adding the difference to the center makes 1.115", close enough for the stock I have on hand. Was the caliper zeroed before measuring? If not all you have to do is wipe the mating faces of the jaws clean, close them completely, then zero it. Your measurements will be much more accurate. Once you have done that I'd appreciate it if you would remeasure the center of the bar. I want to get this right the first time.

It looks like my bars may fit, but the preload / damping adjusters my prove to have a clearance problem if the clamp assembly is rotated much past vertical. We'll see.

How wide do you normally prefer? The standard handle pieces maximum width is ~29", depending on the pullback. I have tried to extoll the virtues of narrow bars to my customers but it is an uphill battle. At the moment my 919 has (obviously) my bars set at 22 3/4" to the ends of the grips, and as low as they can go, barely clearing the tank. For me it is suitable for hard canyon carving and hours long drones to GKW with no discomfort. But that, apparently, is just me.

I'll keep you in the loop.

Rob
Rob thank you for the feedback/ advice. I will remeasure the bars later tonight. It is possible the bar measurement at controls was off. Cleaning the calipers and moving the controls out of the way should make the remeasure (of both sections of the bars) more accurate.

Yes. I believe the preload and damping could be an issue. Especially if any one drops the triple tree down on the fork tubes. I have not touched mine since I bought it and it looks like just a few MM of drop.

As far as bar with I can not lie I am not sure what my preference on with or sweep is yet.
I was comfortable with the stock bars on my 919. I will be playing with bars for the first time on 919 as a friend of mine will be giving me the renthal ultra lows to try.

I would love to learn more about bars and the virtues of nararrow, wide sweep ect.... Is there a link/ thread i can read more on it?
Sounds like you ride very similarly to what I do. Mostly commute to work, the occasional bike vaca/ long trip, canyon and or track days with friends. (L.O.L.. I guess everything)
Not familiar with GKW What is thay short for?

Todd F. Smith is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 04:38 AM Thread Starter
T Smith
 
Todd F. Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bay Shore
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 1
 
Rob, My apologies for the delay getting back to you. I remeasured and the caliper read .85 or .86 depending on how I held it. It coukd be the calipers I am using. They are from Harbor Freight so I am not sure of the accuracy. If you like I can get an old school caliper with the numbers right on it.
Let me know what I can do.

Todd F. Smith is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome