throttle position sensor - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 04-30-2011, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
mpcb04919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 134
Rep Power: 1
 
throttle position sensor

Does anyone know if the throttle position sensor can be replaced and if so how? My son yanked on the wire and one of the male connectors broke off. Uhhgh!

mpcb04919 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-30-2011, 01:34 PM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,647
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

I'm not 100% sure but I think it's only available as part of the complete throttle body assy.

rmb is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-30-2011, 01:37 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
The Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 2,762
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

That's bad news! The worse news is that the TPS itself is not sold separately, and is part of the throttle body assembly...$$$ (edit: RMB beat me to it, and he is correct!)

Is it possible to fix the connector, or reattach the broken wire?





.

Well, fire the engines! Spur this iron space-pony on!

"The Shadow"
The Shadow is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 04-30-2011, 02:52 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,331
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Is the sensor body broken? If not it should be an easy job to remove the pin from the connector and solder the wire back on to it. If so, read on.

Honda should be ashamed of the fragility of that sensor, especially since it's right out there in front of god and everybody just waiting to be broken. The reason why is it is the same as the automotive units Honda has been using for at least 15 years, though it rotates in the opposite direction (it figures!).

It is repairable with some microsurgery to the housing to expose the metal of the intermediate contacts. Not easy, but considering the cost of it's replacement (with a throttle body attached to it) it is definitely worth a try. If I was doing it I would attach wires to it and place a connector in a more protected spot as well. Another thing you should consider doing is to involve your son in the repair to demonstrate the consequences of his actions and probably prevent a repeat performance. That will also either clean up your vocabulary ... or extend your son's depending on how "cleaned up" your vocabulary is or isn't!

Good luck.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-03-2011, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
mpcb04919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 134
Rep Power: 1
 
So this is what happened. I have a soldering gun and am ready to try it. As far as involving my 1 1/2 year old son is not a good idea. Yes he is 1 1/2. He can speak about 10 words but he knows around 30-50. He knows somewhat right from wrong and the phrase like "don't touch" or "that's not ours". My fault was not keeping an eye on him while being busy with my own work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN1064.JPG (28.0 KB, 109 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN1065.jpg (133.2 KB, 14 views)

mpcb04919 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-03-2011, 02:20 PM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,647
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

Good luck!

rmb is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 12:52 AM
Pilus Posterior
 
AllanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,101
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
Ah kids. Daddy is playing with his motorcycle so I will too!

Mind you I've seen qualified mechanics do just as bad!

AllanB is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-04-2011, 09:16 AM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpcb04919 View Post
So this is what happened. I have a soldering gun and am ready to try it. As far as involving my 1 1/2 year old son is not a good idea. Yes he is 1 1/2. He can speak about 10 words but he knows around 30-50. He knows somewhat right from wrong and the phrase like "don't touch" or "that's not ours". My fault was not keeping an eye on him while being busy with my own work.
u should be alright, worst case, you cut off the other 2 pins, solder 3 wires up to the stubs of all 3, and connect to the original harness with some splices.

TBH never understood why the bike has 2 TPS's... both sets of throttle bodies are rotated by the same thing.

I wonder if you could just split the 3 wires off the good one to both sets of plugs to fool the ecu into thinking there are 2 TPS's.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 05-09-2011, 03:56 PM
Tirone
 
Tikhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 1
 
Let me know if this works or not... My TPS also was broken when I laid it down--not badly, but badly enough to break the housing a little and disconnect it from the sensor.

Tikhon is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 05-13-2011, 03:44 AM
Tirone
 
Tikhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 1
 
I was inspired by you guys and did a little soldering job on my TBS... Essentially, I took a dremmel tool and cut away the plastic that was broken and exposed the good metal that was left. I then soldered wires to the connectors on the throttle body and then soldered the wires to the plug. I turned it on to see if it worked or not... and SUCCESS!! Now I just need to make it pretty and tuck it all away...

Tikhon is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 05-13-2011, 05:08 AM
Survivor/Broken&Busted
 
yostevo052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 628
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Community Service Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Great job !!! ......

... Never take life too seriously ... Nobody gets out alive anyway ...
yostevo052 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 05-13-2011, 09:29 AM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,647
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

Congrats!

rmb is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 05-14-2011, 05:11 PM
Tirone
 
Tikhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 1
 
It was extremely satisfying to have it start right up, have no lag when I opened her up a bit, and have no flashing FI light!

Tikhon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome