Switched 12v source help... - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: McKinney
Posts: 100
Rep Power: 1
 
Switched 12v source help...

So, I got the dual headlight set up in my avitar and I dig it. The low beams throw a wider cast and seem to be an improvement over the stocker, BUT the high beam is fairly narrow.

The way it came was just ground and power for each of the 2 headlights. I used spay connectors to plug the 2 grounds wired together into the green ground of the stock headlight connector, high beem to the blue and low to the white (I think.).

What I want is for the lows to stay on when I go to high beam for better visibility when I want it, so my question is, is there a 12v source still protected by the headlight fuse that is constant when the bike is on that I can T into for the low beams or is there a way to use a relay so they are both on when I flip it to high?

A 12v switched source seems like the simple solution. My only concern is overloading the circuit with both lights on...

Any ideas?

Thanks!

-Jonny

Jonny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 10:49 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
dont worry about overloading the ciruit jonny, i run my 599 headlight with both lights on for high, and others run with their dominators with both headlights on so you're clear.

Pvster is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: McKinney
Posts: 100
Rep Power: 1
 
Awesome...so...how'd you do it??

Jonny is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 11:05 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
had it wired into the harness when i ordered the harness. i wouldn't be surprised if there's a switch somewhere in your headlight assembly that turns off the lowbeam and switches to highbeam. if you can find it, take pictures of it and we'll figure out how to bypass it so the lowbeam always stays on.

edit: nm i re-read your original post. i wonder if you could re-spade your connectors and bridge the high/low beam? rob would be an excellent source of help on this topic!

PAGING ROB THARLSON!

Pvster is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: McKinney
Posts: 100
Rep Power: 1
 
Far as I know, it's in the rocker switch, but I'll see what I can chase down if I get some free time this weekend. It's not a dire need...more of a something to do while I wait on my exhaust parts...

-Jonny

Jonny is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 11:11 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
i cant remember if both filiments of the h4 bulb is on when in highbeam mode. can anyone confirm/deny?

Pvster is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: McKinney
Posts: 100
Rep Power: 1
 
I think I have it.
If I add a relay to the H beam that is both energized by the H beam and feeds the L beam only when the relay is energized, then the H beam should kick both on.
Just as an add on, leaving all connections for H & L beams the way they are:

86 = H Beam +
85 = Ground
87 = H Beam +
30 = L Beam +

Power from L to 30 is dead end when H beam is off.
When H is switched on, it comes on like normal, but also feed the relay which connects 87 to 30 and also powers the L beam.

That should work, right?? Gold?

4 female spay connectors, 4 Ts and one 4 prong relay and we'll find out!

-Jonny

Jonny is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 11:58 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
that sounds about right jonny. give it a shot and report back to us.

Pvster is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-24-2012, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: McKinney
Posts: 100
Rep Power: 1
 
Well it worked... And it didn't. It wouldn't go back to just low beams. Relay stays energized. I found a red and black wire that's switched and hard wired the low beam. All fixed!

-Jonny

Jonny is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome