Stebel relay installation - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 09-24-2009, 09:36 AM Thread Starter
Machine Head
 
ideajones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,168
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Lightbulb Stebel relay installation

Has anyone installed their stebel air horn relay inside the headlight ? I have searched and can't find 2000tj's thread about cutting and relocating the compressor. Anyway i still have 2 connections to go and don't want to ruin the wiring harness. They are #'s 86 & 87 on the stebel diagram one goes to the horn + side and one goes to the horn switch, i think i will use the OEM wires instead of running new ones. My question is are the wires black/brown and light green ?

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
ideajones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-24-2009, 10:05 AM
(oYo)
 
2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,966
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Anything running to the + side of the horn shouldn't be OEM as that's the high amperage side of the relay/horn.

My relay was in the tail section near the stock blinker, i don't see why you couldn't put it in the bucket as long as you have room for a clean install.. The stock wires running to the OEM horn provided control current(86) and ground(85) for the relay i used. Use your multi-meter to deterine which is +/- and you are good to go.

Hope that helps.

2000TJ is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-24-2009, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Machine Head
 
ideajones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,168
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Ok Thanks

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
ideajones is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 09-27-2009, 02:35 PM Thread Starter
Machine Head
 
ideajones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,168
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Thanks TJ
I am a bone head when it comes to electrical so I asked.
After you mentioned the high amperage side, I rethought the install, now having no reason to use the stock wires, installing inside the headlight makes no sense. No need to cut the harness. Thank you WRISTTWISTERS being able to view the wiring diagram on a 24 inch screen is awesome.

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
ideajones is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome