Starting issue - Wrist Twisters
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Starting issue

Hoping someone might have a lead on this for me. I'm having an issue on my 03 919 where right at startup the bike will die once your thumb comes off the starter. Two basic methods and outcomes:

1) turn on key
2) pull enricher knob
3) press starter (engine cranks, fires, runs what seems to be normally)
4) let go of starter
5) bike stops

or

1) turn on key
2) pull enricher knob
3) press starter (engine cranks, fires, runs what seems to be normally)
4) rev bike to a few thousand rpms for a second
5) let go of starter
6) engine drops down to near zero rpms for an instant, just long enough to wonder if it died, then fires and runs as if nothing is going on

So, if anyone has any ideas for me...

FWIW I did reset and reload my power commander to no avail. I haven't removed it completely yet to see if that is what is causing the problem.

bigassbertha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 06:59 PM
I killed Barton664
 
Basspiece919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Home is Warrenton VA, School is JMU.
Posts: 1,653
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 1

I have never used my choke knob... Is your idle set ridiculously low?

Basspiece919 is offline  
post #3 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 07:08 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

what happens without using the enrichenererer thingie



Pacojerte is offline  
 
post #4 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Scott
 
Wraith53089's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 87
Rep Power: 1
 
I only use the choke/enricher when it's really cold.
Do you wait for the fuel pump to stop before you hit the starter or just turn the key and start. You should wait for the pump to stop that way you know that the fuel lines or fully pressurized.

Wraith53089 is offline  
post #5 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Same thing happens without the enricher, I just figure that I ought to have it on since I have to rev it on startup to start the bike.

If the bike has been shut off right after riding, the problem does not exist. It will fire right up.

I do wait for the fuel pump to stop, I usually flip the key on, put on my helmet, then start it up.

Thanks for your posts guys.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #6 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 07:43 PM
I killed Barton664
 
Basspiece919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Home is Warrenton VA, School is JMU.
Posts: 1,653
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 1

I am confused. So it does start sometimes? You always use the "enricher"? When it does start up what does it idle at?

Basspiece919 is offline  
post #7 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Either I don't rev the bike and it dies, or I rev the bike to 3-4 grand for a bit with my finger still on the starter button, let off the starter button, it nearly dies and then kicks in. I just walked out, turned the idle way up beyond where it was and same problem.

The only time that it starts without revving is seconds after the bike is shut off hot.

The "enricher" doesn't change anything in this at all, I'm just a little more comfortable revving it cold with the enricher on.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #8 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 07:57 PM
I killed Barton664
 
Basspiece919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Home is Warrenton VA, School is JMU.
Posts: 1,653
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 1

I have no ideas... but as we established in my thread a little bit ago I am not the one to ask. Someone will chime in any minute and tell u lol.

Basspiece919 is offline  
post #9 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 08:17 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Here
Posts: 1,328
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigassbertha View Post
Either I don't rev the bike and it dies, or I rev the bike to 3-4 grand for a bit with my finger still on the starter button, let off the starter button, it nearly dies and then kicks in. I just walked out, turned the idle way up beyond where it was and same problem.

The only time that it starts without revving is seconds after the bike is shut off hot.

The "enricher" doesn't change anything in this at all, I'm just a little more comfortable revving it cold with the enricher on.
Mine is the exact same way...I hate it. Please come up with a fix.

Bryce919er is offline  
post #10 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Have you posted anywhere else about it? And are you using a power commander as well?

Glad to know I'm at least not alone... but sorry you've got the same problem.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #11 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 08:46 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Here
Posts: 1,328
Rep Power: 1
 
Yes I have the PCIII, it has not always been like this with the PCIII, never like this without it but had the PCIII on the last 3 years now. Read my posts #19 & 29 here

https://www.wristtwisters.com/forum/s...ighlight=PCIII

This is what you have as well right?

Bryce919er is offline  
post #12 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 09:02 PM
Heavy Metal
 
ratdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: swamp in the wood
Posts: 4,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Extraordinary Ride Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 5

weird

starter...hmmmm...stayin on the starter keeps the engine going when it lopes to the low idle, i'm guessin...which is just masking the actual symptom

so it's a cold start issue, and a short one at that...

ratdog is offline  
post #13 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 09:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Yes Bryce, sounds like my problem as well.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #14 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 09:14 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
sugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,843
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

If I was having this trouble, removing the PCIII would be the first thing I did. From what I've read on this forum the past couple of years, it is the source for a lot of weird problems.

'02 Honda 919 - She's the only one for me!

sugs is offline  
post #15 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 09:21 PM
Heavy Metal
 
ratdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: swamp in the wood
Posts: 4,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Extraordinary Ride Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by sugs View Post
If I was having this trouble, removing the PCIII would be the first thing I did. From what I've read on this forum the past couple of years, it is the source for a lot of weird problems.
+1 and it's easy to do

ratdog is offline  
post #16 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
And I figured that that was step #1 IF no one knew of a fix.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #17 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 10:35 PM
it's a honda, not a bmw
 
deuceWI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 270
Rep Power: 1
 
I better join in and share.

I have an 03 as well, with a PC3, and she always needs a blip of throttle to start cold. Before the PC3 was installed I don't recall this ever being an issue. I also don't worry about it at all since it just works. Idle is currently set around 1100 (if the tach is accurate) which I think is a bit low, but I like how it sounds where it is so I'm not going to mess with it.

deuceWI is offline  
post #18 of 49 Old 05-05-2009, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Mine's had the PCIII for 4 or 5 years but just recently started doing this after sitting for a winter. Not really sure why it would **** out now, but I will give it a try and pull it eventually.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #19 of 49 Old 05-06-2009, 04:49 AM
Heavy Metal
 
ratdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: swamp in the wood
Posts: 4,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Extraordinary Ride Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 5

yeah that is weird but let me ask you something

are you at all 0's in the 0% throttle position AND are you using the Accelerator Pump function??

ratdog is offline  
post #20 of 49 Old 05-06-2009, 08:30 AM
it's a honda, not a bmw
 
deuceWI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 270
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdog View Post
yeah that is weird but let me ask you something

are you at all 0's in the 0% throttle position AND are you using the Accelerator Pump function??
ahhhh, I think I see where this is going.

I believe my throttle position is calibrated so 0%=0. Does the stock tune differ from that?

And I have some recommended settings for the accelerator pump as well. Not sure what they are at exactly, but it is enabled.

deuceWI is offline  
post #21 of 49 Old 05-06-2009, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Zeros are zeros, no accel pump

bigassbertha is offline  
post #22 of 49 Old 05-06-2009, 02:14 PM
Heavy Metal
 
ratdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: swamp in the wood
Posts: 4,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Extraordinary Ride Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 5

turn off accel pump

calibrate throttle per instructions

now i really want to know if the same thing happens w/o the pc3

and again, this came out of nowhere right, everything was fine for years and then bam?

ratdog is offline  
post #23 of 49 Old 05-06-2009, 02:42 PM
Tribunus Laticlavius
 
voodooridr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 4,599
Rep Power: 1
 
My 04 does it too, disconnect the PCIII and it fires right up, reconnect the PCIII and I have to blip the throttle to get it to stay running, but since it runs worse with the PCIII disconnected (3k rpm surge) I'm learning to live with it.

Dan


Dan
voodooridr is offline  
post #24 of 49 Old 05-06-2009, 07:25 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Here
Posts: 1,328
Rep Power: 1
 
No acel pump here, all zeros @ 0% & I have tried reseting the max/min throttle positions on the PCIII. I have not disconnected the PCIII because it is a pain to get to those ECU connectors, especially since I have a Ventura. Besides, I want to run the PCIII, I just wish this did not happen. Whats frustrating is it has not always been like this (& I have run the same map in the good times & bad).

Part of me wonders if my battery has someting to do with it. It is the original that came with my 02. At the end of the season when cold weather makes rides few & far between sometimes my bike won't crank. I only got a "tender" last winter & just charged it sporatically all the years prior. Does anyone with this problem have a fresh battery or tried replacing it?

Bryce919er is offline  
post #25 of 49 Old 05-07-2009, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
My battery is brand new as of a few weeks ago, and made no change whatsoever. I'm going to toy around with it and see if I can't figure something out. Will keep all updated.

At least we know it's something to do with the PC, but since my bike will run like a turd without it I'll be trying to figure out how to get around it.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #26 of 49 Old 05-07-2009, 01:22 PM
it's a honda, not a bmw
 
deuceWI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 270
Rep Power: 1
 
Additional observations from me:

Overnight cooldown, parked inside and cool, push button, no throttle = no start.

4 hour cooldown till lunch, bike parked outside on a warm sunny 70F+ day, push button, no throttle = start.

This tends to be how it works for me, and like I said, I have just got in the habit of blipping the throttle. If a PC3 tweak fixes things, I'm all for trying that.

Tomorrow may be rainy, but just to confirm I might try to go fire her up without the PC3 in the morning just to see what happens.

deuceWI is offline  
post #27 of 49 Old 05-07-2009, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
That's not quite my experience. Regardless of outside temp, if the bike wasn't running and warm within several minutes of starting it back up, it takes a throttle bump to start.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #28 of 49 Old 05-07-2009, 01:39 PM
it's a honda, not a bmw
 
deuceWI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 270
Rep Power: 1
 
The middle of the sunny day cold start is noticeably slower than a warm restart after a ride. It takes a few seconds for the idle to pick up to normal. But it's not nearly as bad as a cold cold morning start that needs a little help.

deuceWI is offline  
post #29 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 02:34 PM
it's a honda, not a bmw
 
deuceWI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 270
Rep Power: 1
 
Lets see if this link works.

It's an example of my cold morning startup.



Is this the problem?

I will try to get moving a bit early someday soon so I have time to disconnect the PC3 before heading to work and see if it acts differently.

deuceWI is offline  
post #30 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 03:06 PM
Legatus Legionis
 
SV650s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The woods of CT
Posts: 9,680
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Community Leadership Donation Donation Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 6

Hmmm... My 919 sat in cold storage for 6 months and it started as if it was running 6 minutes ago.

SV650s is offline  
post #31 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
That is exactly what mine does, but evidently I have to rev the everliving shit out of mine to get it to stay going. I can't just crack it. I'll see if my video cam works when I get back home (away for work) and try to post it up as well.

Thanks for posting that!

bigassbertha is offline  
post #32 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 03:45 PM
So, Satan's our mascot?
 
SuedeGopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Carolinas
Posts: 1,345
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

+1 on the described problem with PCIII - also didn't used to be an issue.

SuedeGopher is offline  
post #33 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 04:12 PM
USMC
 
beardlessj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Clemente CA
Posts: 216
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

crazy stuff. and to think i was going to get one. now i will have to find somthing else.

2007 CB919 37 mi Aug 20 2008
beardlessj is offline  
post #34 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 04:55 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Here
Posts: 1,328
Rep Power: 1
 
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MINE DOES EXACTLY THAT!!!!!!!!!

I'm excited that at least Im not alone.

Maybe I never tried cause I get so pissed but I have to rev mine harder to go.

Bryce919er is offline  
post #35 of 49 Old 05-12-2009, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardlessj View Post
crazy stuff. and to think i was going to get one. now i will have to find somthing else.
PC3, not the bike.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #36 of 49 Old 05-13-2009, 04:58 PM
BrokeRecord
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Monroe,La
Posts: 1,180
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

What?

What exactly does the PC3 do besides cause trouble? I never bought one, but, if I did and expieranced the problems with start, missing, and idle that lots of you have, then I'd hit that booger real hard with a claw hammer. What good is 3 HP if the bike won't start?

[
brokerecord is offline  
post #37 of 49 Old 05-13-2009, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
I got hit by a car in 03. It was $900 some for replacement stock exhaust, or $150 for a used exhaust + $250 for the PC3 to make it not run like a pooch.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #38 of 49 Old 05-18-2009, 06:47 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Anyone have any experience with Dynojet's customer service? I emailed them middle of last week and haven't heard a peep.

bigassbertha is offline  
post #39 of 49 Old 05-18-2009, 07:37 AM
Pilus Posterior
 
wisco919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,119
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMike View Post
Hmmm... My 919 sat in cold storage for 6 months and it started as if it was running 6 minutes ago.
+1. Never have had any starting issues even with the PCIII.

wisco919 is offline  
post #40 of 49 Old 05-18-2009, 12:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 161
Rep Power: 0
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMike View Post
Hmmm... My 919 sat in cold storage for 6 months and it started as if it was running 6 minutes ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisco919 View Post
+1. Never have had any starting issues even with the PCIII.
Mine worked perfectly for 5 years. Until it didn't.

bigassbertha is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome