Running rough - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 12 Old 08-09-2016, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
Tirone

Garage
Running rough

I have a 2002 919 that I purchased about a year ago with 30K miles and unknown maintenance history. It started running rough last week, and got progressively worse, so I replaced the plugs (NGK) this weekend. Ran beautifully (night and day difference) yesterday, but started stumbling on the way in to work this morning. It stumbles at low RPMs and then clears up as the revs increase. I imagine it'll start stumbling all the time (like last week). I definitely smell unburned gas in the exhaust as well.

So, I'm looking for suggestions from you knowledgeable ones. I'm wondering if the plug(s) are somehow getting fouled - as opposed to there being a lack of spark. Should I invest in an HF noid light to check for spark? Pull the plugs and inspect (I have no experience evaluating them)? Other ideas?

BTW - I did purchase the factory plug remover, and I gotta say, between it, and my wife's midget-sized hands, getting the plugs out was a breeze!

Thanks,
Bob

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 08-09-2016, 12:00 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Garage
After more perusing of other threads, here's my (un)educated guess as to what's going on:

My fuel pressure regulator is bad. This results in rough idle, which clears up (initially on my new plugs) at higher RPMs. Over time (a day for me), the plugs get fouled enough that they stop firing at higher RPMs as well. This theory seems to fit my situation, so I'm going to see if the FPR is bad, and probably replace it any case as it seems to be a weak point in general for the 919.

Feel free to comment, and I'll let you know what I find.

Bob

post #3 of 12 Old 08-09-2016, 12:18 PM
Left of Centre

This hasn't happened to my bike, but I'd say from my reading of the reports of how this goes, you are right on top of it, here. Hope it's a relatively quick fix.

post #4 of 12 Old 08-09-2016, 12:35 PM