Rear tire for front use - Wrist Twisters
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By Bigdaa
  • 1 Post By badmoon692008
  • 1 Post By Quadiak

post #1 of 18 Old 06-29-2018, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

Rear tire for front use

I believe my friend may have lost his marbles, so I want to post this here and get opinions on what he plans to do.

He is riding a 2017 m109r suzuki cruiser and apparently the on the forums he frequents, a bunch of people are running Avon or metzler 160/60zr18 tires on the front of their bikes to replace a 130/70r18 tire. Not only are they running rear tires on the front but they are also running them in reverse rotation.

I told him today I didnt think this would be a good idea, because tires are engineered to run a certain location and direction. Am I wrong to tell him this? thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-29-2018, 04:46 PM
Discen

I tend to agree with you, but I'm not an expert.
Mcromo is very knowledgeable on this subject, I'm sure he'll have something to add.

post #3 of 18 Old 06-29-2018, 04:50 PM
Left of Centre

I agree with you, I wouldn't do it, but nothing surprises me anymore about tyres since the "dark side" thread on here a few years back which featured cruiser guys running square-shouldered car tyres on the back of their bikes...

post #4 of 18 Old 06-29-2018, 07:18 PM
"Whose ABBA ZABBA?"

Those rear tires are "identifying" as front tires. That makes sense to some people in this day and age.
g00gl3it and Supernintendo like this.

In my opinion, the M1 rifle is the greatest battle implement ever devised.
General George S. Patton
post #5 of 18 Old 06-29-2018, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1w1Boy View Post
I agree with you, I wouldn't do it, but nothing surprises me anymore about tyres since the "dark side" thread on here a few years back which featured cruiser guys running square-shouldered car tyres on the back of their bikes...