PCIII on iPod touch/iPhone - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 05:46 AM Thread Starter
So, you're a human...
 
adamjayp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 470
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

PCIII on iPod touch/iPhone

So, I've been thinking about this for a while, and I think it would be great if there was an app that let you program the PCIII on your iPod touch or iPhone. I know, the power commander software isn't even offered on a mac, which means they don't have a mac developer, I'm just saying, if they did, they could sell it for $10-$20 bucks or more. I know, you'd need an adapter to plug it in, but I think these are small hurdles to overcome, I know I'd buy it... Would you? I'd do a poll, but I haven't any idea how, or even if I can. Ride safe.

-Adam

-Laughing at myself - I just started typing my sig line: SGT Pe--- oh, it's not an Army email.

adamjayp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 05:53 AM
Das Kalmar
 
gert260's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,172
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 1

That is a great idea. I have a WinMo phone so they need that to. Makes way more sense.

BOOM CHICKA
gert260 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 10:02 AM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Pacojerte is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 10:06 AM
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,704
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Donation 
Total Awards: 2

I have a Samsung i760 but would still use the laptop for programming the bike only because of the larger screen and touchpad.

gpzTurbo is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 05:01 PM
Speed Lover
 
XRCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,369
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

How would you connect the Iphone to the PCIII?

XRCajun is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 05:16 PM
Chuck Norris has lost in battle with this Member
 
Pacojerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ft lauderdale fl
Posts: 12,874
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by XRCajun View Post
How would you connect the Iphone to the PCIII?
magic



Pacojerte is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 05:56 PM
Self proclaimed idiot....
 
Border's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 765
Rep Power: 1
 
I was thinking the same thing a few weeks ago and it would definitely be a piece of work in the coding department. That and connection would require bluetooth at the least. I honestly don't think that the PCIII has the overhead for the extra communication other than USB. Bummer as it would be cool to adjust maps at a stop.

Border is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
So, you're a human...
 
adamjayp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 470
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Border View Post
I was thinking the same thing a few weeks ago and it would definitely be a piece of work in the coding department. That and connection would require bluetooth at the least. I honestly don't think that the PCIII has the overhead for the extra communication other than USB. Bummer as it would be cool to adjust maps at a stop.
Yea, I don't see the necessity for bluetooth being the minimum connection, I would think they could just set it up to plug into the USB port that's already there... Perhaps needing a special cable or an adapter to mini usb. Bluetooth would be cool, but you'd need a whole extra device attached to the PCIII. The iPhone/iPod touch can communicate in and out, so the hard part would be the user interface, since really the PCIII doesn't do any data logging, even with the laptop, all you can do is load the map to or from the PCIII. All the changes have to be done on the computer/laptop then loaded onto the PCIII. I did notice that it outputs the throttle position live, which is cool, and it makes me wonder what else it outputs (like engine RPM, road speed, etc?). I'm sure a "data logging" ability added onto the app would make it even more appealing, especially for the custom turbo setup folks... and a lot more affordable than some of the other diagnostic logging solutions out there. Oh well, I can't write it myself - and it would probably violate some kind of copyright if I tried.

Even if it couldn't support live data logging, or even being able to adjust the map from the 'pod, at least being able to load up a couple different maps onto the 'pod and change them literally at the push of a button would be pretty cool.

Ahh, what do I know. I just want to be able to mess with my PCIII from my iPod.

adamjayp is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
So, you're a human...
 
adamjayp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 470
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by XRCajun View Post
How would you connect the Iphone to the PCIII?
I was thinking with the USB cable. Unless you have the PCIII before USB, in that case, you'd have to be very creative. I made it work on an old GPS that had a serial cable... loading new maps and way points onto it. Then again, that was pretty simple, just had to make sure the file was right before loading it... There was no two way transfer. It was also just a GPS, if it breaks I can still use a compass.

adamjayp is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 06:46 PM
Speed Lover
 
XRCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,369
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamjayp View Post
I was thinking with the USB cable. Unless you have the PCIII before USB, in that case, you'd have to be very creative. I made it work on an old GPS that had a serial cable... loading new maps and way points onto it. Then again, that was pretty simple, just had to make sure the file was right before loading it... There was no two way transfer. It was also just a GPS, if it breaks I can still use a compass.
Or you saying you made an Iphone load maps and waypoints onto an old GPS?

XRCajun is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 09-11-2009, 11:28 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Rep Power: 0
 
Iphone v Palm Pilot.

To hades with the Iphone, its too damn expensive, and its Mac . What you need is a lot cheaper Palm Pilot with Windows and USB. You could browse the net and upload on the bike!

Pist-N-Broke is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 09-12-2009, 03:52 AM
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,704
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Donation 
Total Awards: 2

What you need is a 10billion dollar satellite to connect remotely to your $250 fueling device. Yeah, that's the ticket.
That way, your bike will communicate to a live Dynojet operator, Onstar style, who will see that something is out of whack and adjust it for you while you ride but hopefully not in the middle of a curve.

gpzTurbo is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 09-12-2009, 06:20 AM Thread Starter
So, you're a human...
 
adamjayp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 470
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by XRCajun View Post
Or you saying you made an Iphone load maps and waypoints onto an old GPS?
Yea, that wasn't clear - I'm sorry. No, I loaded maps and way points onto an old GPS that had a serial port using a USB cable from my PC. Wasn't to difficult, just an adapter from serial to USB - find drivers, figure out which parameter to tweak (you have to do this from the CMD prompt) to get the GPS to mount as a drive, or at least so the computer knows where to look for it, then input the file onto the device. Really though, getting the map into the right format was the hard part. I didn't mean to imply doing this with the PCIII and an ipod would be even close to the same thing, quite the opposite.

I'm a turbine engine mechanic, not a computer programmer. Would be fun to try if I knew where to start though. Unfortunately, I haven't got a clue. You can quote that when I say something dumb.

-Adam

adamjayp is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 09-12-2009, 06:30 AM Thread Starter
So, you're a human...
 
adamjayp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 470
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pist-N-Broke View Post
To hades with the Iphone, its too damn expensive, and its Mac . What you need is a lot cheaper Palm Pilot with Windows and USB. You could browse the net and upload on the bike!
I don't have an iPhone, so I thought hey, the palm - I'll check that out...

Palm Pre (Like a base level iPhone): 149.99 with rebate (actually two rebates, a $200 2year contract, and a $100 mail in.
iPhone 3g 8gb (base level iPhone): 99.00 with rebate ($200 2year contract)

I'm not saying one is better or worse, they're both fantastic! I'm just saying the price compare is a little off... If you get a fancier iphone, like the 3g w/16gb or the 3gs, then yes, Palm is better priced... I think GPZ has a handle on this thing, I'm going with the Satellite based adjustment. We'll tap into the bank angle sensor so the bike can download the map updates and then update after the bike is going straight again. Like the F1 cars do!

adamjayp is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 09-12-2009, 06:41 AM
Speed Lover
 
XRCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,369
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamjayp View Post
Yea, that wasn't clear - I'm sorry. No, I loaded maps and way points onto an old GPS that had a serial port using a USB cable from my PC. Wasn't to difficult, just an adapter from serial to USB - find drivers, figure out which parameter to tweak (you have to do this from the CMD prompt) to get the GPS to mount as a drive, or at least so the computer knows where to look for it, then input the file onto the device. Really though, getting the map into the right format was the hard part. I didn't mean to imply doing this with the PCIII and an ipod would be even close to the same thing, quite the opposite.

I'm a turbine engine mechanic, not a computer programmer. Would be fun to try if I knew where to start though. Unfortunately, I haven't got a clue. You can quote that when I say something dumb.

-Adam
Gotcha Adam! Hey I may be up at Fort Bragg in November. My son is coming back from Baghdad. Can't wait to cruise Fayetnam!

XRCajun is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 09-12-2009, 07:39 AM Thread Starter
So, you're a human...
 
adamjayp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 470
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Ride safe! It's dangerous here!

adamjayp is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 09-20-2009, 01:54 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

I have PCIII on my Wii

zaq123 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 09-21-2009, 02:14 PM
Tesserarius
 
farmerjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast. BC Canada
Posts: 709
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

I think its cheaper to buy a Power Commander LCD unit. It does more than changing maps on the fly.

farmerjoe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome