No running, brake, or turn signals - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 10-06-2012, 08:05 AM Thread Starter
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
No running, brake, or turn signals

Hi, I'm using a CustomLED board that is spliced into the stock harness. After the track day yesterday, I have no running lights, brake lights, or turn signals on the custom led board. Turn signals still works on the front and on the rear (rizomas). If I insert a standard bulb into the stock plug, I get a working brake light but no running lights.

I've checked fuses (they looked ok) and the wiring. I Can't find any telltale signs of potential issues. Anyone have any ideas? I'm stumped. I figure its related to the fact that the stock bulb doesn't have a running light. I am running the customled flasher relay as well.

As it is, the bike will have to sit in the garage for now while I head back down to Monmouth with the jeep. I'll have to try to troubleshoot it after Wednesday night when I get back.

Pvster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 10-06-2012, 09:20 AM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,655
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

Sounds like an issue with the CLED pcb only, I'd take it out and look for broken wires/bad solder joints.

rmb is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 10-06-2012, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmb View Post
Sounds like an issue with the CLED pcb only, I'd take it out and look for broken wires/bad solder joints.
Yeah I've done that. Didn't see anything, but it was a quick look over. Still doesn't explain the fact that I have no running light with the stock bulb. I'm pretty sure its related to that?

Pvster is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 10-06-2012, 02:33 PM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,655
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvster View Post
Yeah I've done that. Didn't see anything, but it was a quick look over. Still doesn't explain the fact that I have no running light with the stock bulb. I'm pretty sure its related to that?
Probably, IIRC I tested my CLED unit and it needed power on the running light lead to work any inputs. You might have a damaged wire somewhere(like you didn't know that already...LOL).

rmb is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 10-06-2012, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmb View Post
Probably, IIRC I tested my CLED unit and it needed power on the running light lead to work any inputs. You might have a damaged wire somewhere(like you didn't know that already...LOL).
ooooo That's right! I totally forgot about that. Thank you rmb. I'll have to look into that when I get back to it after Wednesday.

Pvster is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 10-06-2012, 04:09 PM
Princeps Prior
 
boogunoogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,957
Rep Power: 1
 
How did you attach the CLED board to the stock wires? turn the bike off. where ever you made a splice, crimp, soldered connection, grab a multimeter then attach one test lead to the spice, the other to a good source to ground. If you have no direct shorts, then do the following


grab an alligator lead and attach one end right to the running light + spice (or unsplice them if you do not have a multimeter) then the other side goes to the battery. See if it lights up.

if that does not work, also try putting another alligator lead on the ground splice (no not un-splice) to a good/different source to ground



boogunoogun is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 10-07-2012, 09:09 AM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,786
Rep Power: 1
 
We have soon good electrical help on this site.
I hope I never need it, but if I do, I'll be comin' a knockin'

mcromo44 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-13-2012, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
Welp, figured out what the problem was: blue wire broke at the soldered connection to the circuit board. Now I just gotta figure out how to remove the circuit board from the light housing since its super glued into place (as instructed). Any ideas? I can't get access to the wire in order to strip it and resolder it to the circuit board as it is due to my fat fingers and small space.

Pvster is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-13-2012, 05:17 PM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,655
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

I thought they told you to use hot glue? Super glue will keep you busy for a while... Try an exacto knife and keep cutting the glue with the tip of the blade, you'll get it eventually. Just be careful, don't cut any traces on the pcb...

rmb is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 10-13-2012, 07:25 PM
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)
 
andrewebay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,883
Rep Power: 1
 
Try nail polish remover, not sure how you're going to sneak it in there though.

My classified(s):
Nothing at the moment

----------------
------------
---------
------
---
- '96 Race-retired GSXR 750 (Sold)
- '01 RC51 SP1 (Sold)
- '03 919

"Security is mostly a superstition, it does not exist in nature: avoiding danger in the long run is no safer than outright being exposed. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."-Helen Keller
andrewebay1 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-10-2013, 07:11 PM
Milites Gregarius
 
trailblazer68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 110
Rep Power: 1
 
You could try a wood burner or soldering iron around the super glued spots, just use a light touch. Super glue actually melts the plastic components together a bit so the pinpoint heating tip "should " let you soften it up enough to get it out. If not use an exacto knife after softening it up to part it. This way it'll be a clean breakaway so you can get it back in place afterwards

trailblazer68 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome