New front turn signals - can I just add a ground? - Wrist Twisters
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Quadiak
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 09-10-2018, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
draco880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 83
Rep Power: 1
 
New front turn signals - can I just add a ground?

Hey, I'm restoring a pretty beat up 2002 919, and one of the many things missing was front turn signals. I got a generic replacement pair, which have the two wires. I noticed on Partzilla that the OEM signals have three wires; presumably the green wire is a ground. Can I just do a boring frame-to-ground wire, or would it make more sense to track down some three-wire replacement parts?

Thanks for any advice.

draco880 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-10-2018, 10:53 AM
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Jamaica, NY
Posts: 139
Rep Power: 1
 
The three wires on the bike are for indicator, running light and ground.

I changed to 2 wire indicators too, one of the running lights is connected to my headlight to power the halo and on the other indicator itís just insulated to nowhere.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

steev is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-11-2018, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
draco880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 83
Rep Power: 1
 
Maybe I didn't ask this well, I'm curious if I can just run the ground wire to a ground on the frame, and use 2-wire signals.

draco880 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-12-2018, 07:27 AM
Milites Gregarius
 
Quadiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 116
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by draco880 View Post
Maybe I didn't ask this well, I'm curious if I can just run the ground wire to a ground on the frame, and use 2-wire signals.
Your generic lights have 2 wires you say? If so one wire is a ground, other wire is a 12+ for the bulb. You won't need a separate ground. The factory wiring has three wires because they have a running light as well as the signal. Something a 2 wire generic light won't have.
steev likes this.

Quadiak is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-12-2018, 01:27 PM
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Jamaica, NY
Posts: 139
Rep Power: 1
 
The ground wire from the turn signal needs to be connected to ground. Thatíll leave you with one wire.

There are kits that put a resistor on the running light wire so you can connect the running light wire + and signal wire + to the other wire on the turn signal. Thatís why I only connected the ground and turn signal wires to the turn signal. You canít complete a circuit properly if you do it the way youíre thinking, and might even damage something in the process when you power the bike up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

steev is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-17-2018, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
draco880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 83
Rep Power: 1
 
Awesome, thanks for the information guys.

draco880 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome