Is there a way to tell if you screwed up the master link on a new chain? - Wrist Twisters
 7Likes
  • 2 Post By mcromo44
  • 1 Post By LDH
  • 1 Post By badmoon692008
  • 1 Post By badmoon692008
  • 1 Post By LDH
  • 1 Post By HondaJim

post #1 of 22 Old 05-31-2019, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior

Is there a way to tell if you screwed up the master link on a new chain?

I tried pretty hard to get the master link on correctly. I use a feeler gauge and non-digital calipers, but the o rings on one side look like the got squished a bit.

It seems to move just as freely as the others, but I'm wondering how can I tell if I really got it right?

I'm guessing if it were too tight, the o rings would be damaged and if too loose would not hold the plate on.

Local shop wants $25 to put one on, so that might be worth having them look at it to see if it's right.

I just don't want to have it fail while in use and I've never done one of these before. It's hard to look at the rivet heads and see if they've been smashed enough or not, but they compare to the other rivet heads.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 05-31-2019, 10:09 PM
919 Rider

It's most likely fine and your worried about nothing. As long as is flared and not cracked, link moves freely and doesn't bind and the O rings haven't been deformed so that they break and stick out.
Post a pic of your work.

post #3 of 22 Old 06-01-2019, 07:27 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post
It's most likely fine and your worried about nothing. As long as is flared and not cracked, link moves freely and doesn't bind and the O rings haven't been deformed so that they break and stick out.
Post a pic of your work.
Ok, here's a few videos.

Notice how the o ring sticks out a bit on one? I used the calipers to compare the size of the rivet heads to the others. It doesn't feel stiff, it feels like the other links.