I screwed up big time installing PCIII. HELP PLEASE! - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Walnut Creek
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 1
 
I screwed up big time installing PCIII. HELP PLEASE!

Please don't ask why, or how I arrived at the place I am. I just don't want to make further mistakes. In the process of adding a power commander, I cut the red wire with a yellow tracer. All the way back to the grey plug. My soldering skills are terrible. I have two choices; replace the entire electrical harness, or hire an electrician to rewire the red wire with yellow tracer to the plug. Please look at the picture I've attached of the damage, and weigh in.

Thanks,

-Rudy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (173.8 KB, 68 views)

RudyHuxtable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Walnut Creek
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 1
 
PS, in the bottom right hand corner, you can see the remnant if the red wire with yellow tracer.

RudyHuxtable is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 04:10 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,616
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Crap dude. Crack the case if you can, might find a bit more wire inside to solder to.

But if you are not good at soldering, find a friend that is.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 04:19 PM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
You need to open that cannon plug, de-pin the wire and add some length to it.

Its not hard to do, but judging by the pic above .... you should seek some help.

HeliMech is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 04:23 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,616
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeliMech View Post
You need to open that cannon plug, de-pin the wire and add some length to it.

Its not hard to do, but judging by the pic above .... you should seek some help.
Helimech, run over there with your Dremel

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 04:26 PM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
Could you imagine the damage a dremel would cause in that mans hands!

you could use a razor blade and blow torch too ...... oh never mind!

HeliMech is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Walnut Creek
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 1
 
would it just be easier to buy a new cannon plug and run it to the source? I'm not sure this is salvageable. And I dont know anyone with soldering skills personally

RudyHuxtable is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Walnut Creek
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 1
 
Best approach for crack the plug?

RudyHuxtable is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 05:21 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
I yi yi... Why on earth would you cut it right at the plug???

You do NOT need to cut / break the plug. Undo the plug from the ecu... Look at the pin there will be a little metal tab that holds it from backing out. Push the tab and then you can push the pin out and solder some wire on to the pin... Directly connect that to the wire you chopped... And do one of two things... 1. Forget the power commander.... 2 take it yo someone who knows what they are doing.

Also pretty sure you never have to cut any wires... Should just be able to use splices.

EDIT: Not to be a dick, but if you cant easily figure out how to get the pin out of the plug itself (you should not have to split the plug apart... each pin has a small rubber gasket on the back of it as seen in the pics... all of which are just pressed into the plug itself and held in by the aforementioned metal tab) i would stop working on it... i would hate to see you cause damage to the point where a new ecu is needed.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 05:23 PM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudyHuxtable View Post
Best approach for crack the plug?
There should be a few tabs & safety looks to pop/press to split it into a few pieces, its a weather proof plug and might be tricky to get the pieces to separate.

HeliMech is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 07:02 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Walnut Creek
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks for your help guys. I'm going to have someone else handle this. I've been through a lot lately and probably shouldn't be riding anyhow.

RudyHuxtable is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 11-12-2013, 09:01 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudyHuxtable View Post
Thanks for your help guys. I'm going to have someone else handle this. I've been through a lot lately and probably shouldn't be riding anyhow.
w/e it has been man hope it all works out.

Definitely do not go on a motorcycle ride with a completely scrabbled worn out mind. Only so so once you have gotten to the point where w/e it is can be put on the back burner and you can concentrate mentally solely on riding while moving.

I have hurt myself on the dirbike a time or two taking anger / aggression / mental hurt out on the motorcycle, and it was a big eye opener that it should never be done on a street bike.

Good luck with the power commander install, sorry it went south, and if you need any more help dont hesitate to ask.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 11-13-2013, 06:13 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh View Post

w/e it has been man hope it all works out.

Definitely do not go on a motorcycle ride with a completely scrabbled worn out mind. Only so so once you have gotten to the point where w/e it is can be put on the back burner and you can concentrate mentally solely on riding while moving.

I have hurt myself on the dirbike a time or two taking anger / aggression / mental hurt out on the motorcycle, and it was a big eye opener that it should never be done on a street bike.
100% agree with this! I had a rough fall at work & barely had any seat time because of it. I was working 60+ hr weeks, working back shift ..... Be safe, be sure and have your head in a good space before u ride.

OP .... Try to find a dedicated electrical shop or small bike shop to give u a hand. Don't go to the dealership, they will want try to replace the full harness. Maybe even a car audio place, they don't need to know motorcycles.... Just be comfortable with de-pinning connectors.

HeliMech is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-14-2013, 07:28 PM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
If you were closer, I could do it in a jiff.
I agree with the above, an audio shop might be a good place to look. Many are familiar with connectors and soldering. Don't go someplace they let some high school kid do installs (*cough* Best Buy *cough*)



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-14-2013, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Walnut Creek
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 1
 
Hey guys, good news! I found a guy through the local rider forum. He puts together solar panels and did a fantastic job fixing my mess. Helped me out the bike back together and made sure it was running right. All good! Thanks for your support

RudyHuxtable is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-17-2013, 04:43 AM
No association w/ Tirone.
 
redletter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Western MD
Posts: 400
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Glad to hear you got it straightened out! I had a hard time soldering that splice in until I dropped the whole plastic rear section to get my hands in there, enjoy the PC3.

redletter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome