Honda Hornet 919 - Fuel injection issue - Wrist Twisters
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By marylandmike
  • 1 Post By nathanktm
  • 1 Post By Baol
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 01-26-2019, 12:17 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Honda Hornet 919 - Fuel injection issue

Hi guys,

how's going?

In the last couple of days I had some issues with my Hornet 919, it's a 2003 with lots of mileage, around 48k miles. I had this bike for 4 years and never had a problem!
When the engine warms up (I'm in Australia and it's almost 40 degrees Celsius at the moment!) the engine start sputtering a bit and the light of the PGM-FI turns on, steady red... Also the bike almost turned off by itself a couple of times...
I'll bring it to the mechanic next week, but I'm a bit worried that he will rip me off...
Anybody experienced anything close to this problem?

Thanks a lot!

Baol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-26-2019, 12:42 AM
Tesserarius
 
nathanktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Floral Park
Posts: 604
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 6

I'm not an expert but the most common thing I hear people to check on this site is the fuel pressure regulator as for whatever reason something seems to go wrong with them. Also, something along the lines of checking each exhaust header and seeing if one feels significantly cooler than the others, signalling a misfire. That's really all I know off the top of my head, but I'm sure the answer is somewhere on this forum if you look hard enough.

nathanktm is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-27-2019, 08:15 AM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,114
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Starting on page 5-10 of the Service Manual, there is a table to help isolate the issue based on how many times the FI blinks when you first start the bike, before it goes solid.

Good luck!
CB900F2 and mcromo44 like this.

marylandmike is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks for the tips guys!
For some reasons the light doesn't blink... IT goes straight to fixed red...
I will take a look to the manual anyway, maybe I can find something useful.

Cheers!

Baol is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 02:16 AM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,990
Rep Power: 1
 
Check out the first post in this link.
PGM-FI Light https://www.cbr250.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8114
There is a chance since you've turned your bike off the code is stored and there is a procedure to retrieve it.
Steady light, no blinks can also mean a short/poor connection somewhere.
For what's its worth check your TP connections.

Islandboy is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 04:20 AM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,114
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

You didn't do any mods lately that involved drilling into the tail section did you? There have been cases where people drilled into the ECU by accident. There is a connector in the tail section that you can jumper out and it should allow you to retrieve any error codes, by watching the blinks.

marylandmike is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Nope, no mods in the back at all, at least in the last 2 years or so!
Anyway yesterday the light went blinking 8 times, which means a poor or faulty TP sensor.
Today I'll bring to the mech and hope for the best!

Maybe is the right time to start thinking about a new bike... Lately I've been pouring too many into this old one!
I was thinking about the new CB1000R, anybody tried it out? Looks sick!

Baol is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 01:28 PM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,990
Rep Power: 1
 
I agree, the new CB1000R does look sick.
Check your TP connections before taking it to the mechanic.
I managed to find some cheap TP sensors. Worked out to be about $30 each. Otherwise Honda wants you to buy the entire throttle body.

Islandboy is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Already brought the bike to the mechanic, he will check the log and let me know.
I already told the dude that if I need to change the whole throttle body he needs to stop and give me a call, brand new it's worth as much as the whole bike!
I will take a look online for the TP sensor, unfortunately in AU there aren't a lot of 919, but with some luck...

Baol is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 06:57 PM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,990
Rep Power: 1
 
Good luck finding a new sensor. You might find a second hand one still attached to a throttle body. Wreckers, eBay.
If ya want a new one you'd be after a JT4R. This might help... TPS sensor pictures https://www.wristtwisters.com/forums...ad.php?t=32372

Islandboy is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post
Good luck finding a new sensor. You might find a second hand one still attached to a throttle body. Wreckers, eBay.
If ya want a new one you'd be after a JT4R. This might help... TPS sensor pictures https://www.wristtwisters.com/forums...ad.php?t=32372

Cheers mate, this will help heaps!

Baol is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-28-2019, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
I found this on on Ebay, JT4R.
It's for a VTR1000 tho, should be alright anyway?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/HONDA-VTR10...690f%7Ciid%3A1

I will wait for the mechanic report and in case I'll order it.

Thanks again everyone for the help! I would hate to see my 919 dying for such a small piece...

Baol is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 02-19-2019, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Hi guys!

Update on the situation: I replaced the TP sensor and the bike works so much better.

Now my only issue is that when the bike is turned on the rpm are a bit too high, around 1.4/1.5k instead of the regular 1k.
Not a big drama, but I would like to solve it.

Reading the other post I realised that the problem is the settings in the ECU, I need to change the OHMs to match the new TP sensor or something like that...

Any kind should would be so nice to explain what I should do to work on these settings? Sorry but I'm such a first timer on this situations!

Baol is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 02-20-2019, 12:35 AM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,990
Rep Power: 1
 
Glad a new TP got you sorted out. The aging sensors on these bikes could soon become a problem for us all.
Now to your little issue. Maybe the "new" sensor is slightly off in its position. If it where me I'd be tempted to lossen those two bolts holding it on. Just enough to allow you to shift it. Mark the position it's at now then while bike is running shift it slightly one way or the other.
If I given poor advice please someone chime in before he blows his bike up.

Islandboy is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 02-20-2019, 04:48 AM
Tesserarius
 
nathanktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Floral Park
Posts: 604
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 6

Its supposed to idle at like 1200 I think, just turn the idle adjustment screw? Make sure the choke isn't out too lol.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Islandboy likes this.

nathanktm is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 02-21-2019, 12:38 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanktm View Post
Its supposed to idle at like 1200 I think, just turn the idle adjustment screw? Make sure the choke isn't out too lol.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
I can't believe I didn't think about the idle screw myself lol!

Adjusted and now it's perfect!

Thank again guys, best motorbike forum ever
Islandboy likes this.

Baol is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome