GPS Nav over iPhone, what do you use? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 7 Old 01-19-2019, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
Pilus Posterior

GPS Nav over iPhone, what do you use?

I just tried to get google maps running in a tab in Chrome, I guess that doesn't work that way because I can't see any voice option.

I didn't realize you had to have a distinct app to get voice directions.

What iOS app do you use for GPS and how well does it work?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-19-2019, 06:20 PM
Centurion

Garage
there's google maps and waze on iOS.

I prefer using waze though, it's quite dynamic when it comes to traffic and it's quite easy to use.

post #3 of 7 Old 01-20-2019, 09:31 AM
jack

I just started playing with Scenic. Haven't been able to ride with it yet.It has route mode settings of fast,short,efficient and curvy. I have a couple of places I ride to often and I set the curvy route in and it took me the same way I go. I can't wait to try it out. Got to warm up a little. Down to 16 tonite.

post #4 of 7 Old 01-20-2019, 10:24 AM
Tesserarius

I don't use anything on the bike mostly because I don't tour.

In the Mustang, or the truck, I just use the phone app on my iPhome 7+. I have noticed that if you put in a vague destination description, it may send you the "Scenic Route". But if you give a house number, Street, and town, you're more likely to get the faster route.

In the past, I haven't been a fan of having the phone mounted on my handlebar, because for me, it's a distraction. But like everything else in life, the judicious application of self discipline works wonders. The previous owner of the Streetfighter left his phone mount in place. I took it off. After spending the last 5 weeks in California, I'm kind of thinking I might try it when the weather gets better. I'd have been lost without it.

post #5 of 7 Old 01-21-2019, 12:53 AM
Tesserarius

Awards Showcase