Gauge Q - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 05-26-2009, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Gauge Q

So the gauge on my 600RR is busted. My friend bought a replacement before I took everything. I plugged it in and the needle starts at 2k. I took it all apart, pushed the needle back to zero, and when I plug it in it does the clearing sweep, then resets back to 2k!!!

I did figure out how to switch between k/mh and mph though

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-27-2009, 07:03 AM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Anyone know how to fix it?

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-27-2009, 12:13 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,358
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

On the assumption that you bought the pod used it is possible that the needle was removed for whatever reason and either reinstalled incorrectly or purposely to make it look loke it's revving faster than it actually is. The new Yamaha R6 had this straight from the factory.

The needle driver in sine / cosine gauges have no internal stops -- they can spin 360 degrees. The stops are always on the gauge face. The only way to calibrate this type of gauge is with a signal generator with adjustable offset. With the generator you can determine the required pulse repetition rate to deflect the needle, do some simple math to convert pulses per minute to Hz (Pulses per second -- all signal generators are calibrated in Hz.), and send a signal to the gauge with the needle removed corresponding to a known RPM -- say 6000 RPM needs a 100 Hz signal, then install the needle to point at 6000 RPM. This is how it's done at the factory and there's no real alternative.

If you don't have the necessary equipment for this I could do it for you as long as I have a wiring diagram in order to get the power, ground, and signal pins right. There is a slight risk of damage to the gauge when removing / installing the needle, so no absolute guarantees, but it's worth a try.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 06-03-2009, 11:58 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Well, I just kinda ignored the RPM's for the time being, buuuuut today while riding the stupid gauges quit working all together, no speed, no temp, no tach, nothing except the bright's indicator and the clock show up...

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-04-2009, 03:21 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,776
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by robtharalson View Post
On the assumption that you bought the pod used it is possible that the needle was removed for whatever reason and either reinstalled incorrectly or purposely to make it look loke it's revving faster than it actually is. The new Yamaha R6 had this straight from the factory.

The needle driver in sine / cosine gauges have no internal stops -- they can spin 360 degrees. The stops are always on the gauge face. The only way to calibrate this type of gauge is with a signal generator with adjustable offset. With the generator you can determine the required pulse repetition rate to deflect the needle, do some simple math to convert pulses per minute to Hz (Pulses per second -- all signal generators are calibrated in Hz.), and send a signal to the gauge with the needle removed corresponding to a known RPM -- say 6000 RPM needs a 100 Hz signal, then install the needle to point at 6000 RPM. This is how it's done at the factory and there's no real alternative.

If you don't have the necessary equipment for this I could do it for you as long as I have a wiring diagram in order to get the power, ground, and signal pins right. There is a slight risk of damage to the gauge when removing / installing the needle, so no absolute guarantees, but it's worth a try.

Rob
What do you charge for such a service? Some idiot (that would be me) decided to pull the needle off of his gauges before reading forums.

beefsalad is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-10-2009, 11:30 PM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,358
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
What do you charge for such a service? Some idiot (that would be me) decided to pull the needle off of his gauges before reading forums.
Oh, I don't know -- how about $30 plus shipping, depending on what you need done past resetting the needle. It occurs to me that if you have an exact error percentage for the speedo the needle could be repositioned for an accurate reading at whatever speed you would want. That is as long as you realize it will still be inaccurate above and below that speed. Worth thinking about regardless.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-11-2009, 06:23 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,776
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Should just need the needles reset. I'm going to see if I can't replace the gauge face while I've got the needles off. I'm wanting to get rid of the yellow that seems to be embedded in the face.

beefsalad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome