flashing headlight? Yes or no? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 45 Old 03-02-2012, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Aquilifer

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

flashing headlight? Yes or no?

Last season (yes we have motorcycle seasons here Nd4spdbh) I saw a harley with his headlight constantly flashing. At first, (I am fairly new to riding) I thought he must have a loose connection. Only to find out that this was on purpose. Personally I thought it was REALLY annoying. But I did notice him. I'm not asking if you think I should do it, cause I'm not! Just wondering peoples thoughts.
HEADLIGHT MODULE - YouTube

Arte et Marte
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 Old 03-02-2012, 07:05 PM
Chief 10 Beers

Effective but annoying. I think you have to decide if you want to annoy traffic in the name of safety? I guess you could beep your horn every 2 seconds too?

There are bold motorcyclists and old motorcyclists, but (OK) there are few old bold motorcyclists
post #3 of 45 Old 03-02-2012, 07:22 PM
Why's everything on fire?

Garage
Those are headlight modulators. They were invented because headlight-based DRLs on cars defeat the purpose of DRLs on bikes and make us invisible against the background of traffic again.

More information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorcy...lamp_modulator
http://www.kriss.com/modrules.htm
http://users.snip.net/~WCLAMB/MODULATOR.HTM

This technology is not compatible with HID lamps.

1986 Honda Nighthawk 700S
2002 Honda 919

post #4 of 45 Old 03-02-2012, 07:27 PM
The chill Moderator

Awards Showcase
Veteran 

I think it could cause target fixation for a driver and they will hit you.

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
post #5 of 45 Old 03-02-2012, 07:27 PM
Community Moderator

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3