First Major Maintenance Issue - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 13 Old 04-11-2015, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

First Major Maintenance Issue

So my 919 is presently parked at my wife's friend's house approx 15 miles from home. It's on a nice flat concrete slab and I suspect that if I had to do a few hours of work there I could get away with it.

While riding this morning, I noticed the engine noise suddenly change and I had what sounded like a misfire. Turned out it looks like a spark plug(#3) is complete loose and the lead to the plug is ripped/torn. I say looks like because it's damn hard to get to that plug but it's flapping around like crazy when the bike is running.

I'm completely new to bikes and while I present to know what I'm doing mechanically, I generally rely on service professionals.

I could trailer the bike home although I don't have a wheel chock or eyelet bolts in my trailer but I could set it up tomorrow.

I could order parts and the service manual but I figure I should ask the folks here if this is an endeavor for a novice or not. I would like to learn how to do this kind of work but I also hate to have the bike out of commission for too long.

Provided it's not outlandish for me to do, any recommendations on parts sources, etc? I hoped to find some resources (videos or tutorials) and I've found a few things for other I4 hondas but nothing 919 specific.

BTW, I'm guessing some of you could have resolved this in less time than I've typed the post...your advice is appreciate!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 04-11-2015, 09:10 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1