Engine rebuild tips? - Wrist Twisters
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By robtharalson

post #1 of 6 Old 03-26-2020, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Engine rebuild tips?

Hey everybody! New member here. I have a 2003 9er, black (the fastest color). I recently laid her down and cracked the engine case. I thought about selling it and getting a new bike but I just love the 919 too much so I’m going to fix it. I’ve ordered a set of case halves and I pulled the motor out today. My question is: has anybody here rebuilt one of these engines? I’m just looking for any tips or tricks, or special tools needed. I’m a mechanic so I have lots of tools and mechanical aptitude, but this is my first motorcycle engine job. Any input is appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 03-26-2020, 09:40 PM
Tirone

RTFM

the manual is pretty comprehensive and available here if you don't have it.

"I have plenty of common sense, I just choose to ignore it." - Calvin
post #3 of 6 Old 03-26-2020, 10:05 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Thank you. I do have the manual, I’ve read through it a couple times. For the most part it seems pretty straightforward, but sometimes it’s hard to get the scope of things just by reading the manual. I was just kinda curious to hear from people who have done it. I’ve rebuilt loads of auto engines but never a motorcycle engine, so it is a little intimidating, but I’m sure I can get it done

post #4 of 6 Old 03-28-2020, 12:13 PM
McTavish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob Zawadzki View Post
Thank you. I do have the manual, Iíve read through it a couple times. For the most part it seems pretty straightforward, but sometimes itís hard to get the scope of things just by reading the manual. I was just kinda curious to hear from people who have done it. Iíve rebuilt loads of auto engines but never a motorcycle engine, so it is a little intimidating, but Iím sure I can get it done
Not lost on me is the FSM's absolute silence on cylinder wall prep for the new rings.