Electrical problem AKA: I screwed up - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 05:52 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Livonia
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
Electrical problem AKA: I screwed up

Hello all,
New member here, but have come to this site for many years to read the threads.
My Problem: I mistakenly crossed the cables when jumpstarting my 2002 Honda Hornet 919 with a battery charger(please stop laughing). The charger has a jump-start switch which sends out 50 amps. I did hear a "click" near the front of the seat/rear of the gas tank. I replaced the battery and have no power at all. I checked the fuses and they seem fine.

I know just enough about electrical issues to get myself in trouble, so I did not go any further after checking the fuses.

Any help would be appreciated. And yes I am expecting some pleasant jokes sent my way.

Tiny

tiny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 07:08 AM
Tesserarius
 
Todi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 625
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny View Post
Hello all,
New member here, but have come to this site for many years to read the threads.
My Problem: I mistakenly crossed the cables when jumpstarting my 2002 Honda Hornet 919 with a battery charger(please stop laughing). The charger has a jump-start switch which sends out 50 amps. I did hear a "click" near the front of the seat/rear of the gas tank. I replaced the battery and have no power at all. I checked the fuses and they seem fine.

I know just enough about electrical issues to get myself in trouble, so I did not go any further after checking the fuses.

Any help would be appreciated. And yes I am expecting some pleasant jokes sent my way.

Tiny
I did the same when I bought my bike two years ago and I burned the 30A fuse. It's on the side of the fuse panel, by itself, if i remember

Todi is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 07:09 AM
Semper Vigilo
 
2007BruteForece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 305
Rep Power: 1
 
Been there done that.
Have you checked the main fuse? When you turn the key on does the fuel pump prime?
Main fuse is located closer to the battery than the fuse block with the smaller fuses, IIRC.

Edit: What Todi said

2007BruteForece is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 08:42 AM
Princeps Prior
 
boogunoogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,957
Rep Power: 1
 
Use a meter to check the fuses. Sometimes they look fine but are blown

boogunoogun is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 09:42 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
+1 to what everyone has said. Be sure to check the main fuse first.

Pvster is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 09:53 AM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,616
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Yup. blown fuse.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Livonia
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks for the replies guys. I did check all the fuses, and what I believe is the main fuse(30amp) They all look fine, but I think I will replace them all and see what happens.

tiny is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Livonia
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
...Also when I turn the key on I get absolutely nothing - no fuel pump, no odometer, nothing.

tiny is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 10:57 AM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Do you have a multimeter? If not, they are fairly cheap and you can use that to check the resistance in each fuse (starting with the main fuse). The resistance should be almost 0 ohms. If you read a high resistance reading, or no reading at all, the fuse is blown and needs to be replaced.



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Livonia
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
Well I went to the auto parts store and bought replacement fuses and a multi meter. I had a couple of the fuses tested and the guy there did say that the 30amp fuse is dead - even though it looks fine. That brightened my outlook, but when I got home and tried 3 different 30 amp fuses nothing, no power.

tiny is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Livonia
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
There is a red "Coupler" next to the 30 amp fuse I replaced, which I unhooked. Low and behold there was another 30 amp fuse below that coupler. Apparently the 1st 30 amp fuse I replaced was the spare. The 30 amp fuse below the coupling was blown and has been replaced and the bike lit up like a christmas tree! The bike fired right up! Thank you guys who responded to my post!
You guys saved me the hassle of taking my bike to the shop and spending who knows how much to have them replace a fuse.
Awesome.
I am glad to be a part of wristtwisters

tiny is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 02:02 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,616
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3


2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 02:08 PM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Well, glad you got it fixed. I will laugh now as I picture you replacing the spare fuse and scratching your head thinking... huh... The guys over at WT said this should fix it...



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 02:10 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
I love quick and easy fixes!

Pvster is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-17-2014, 02:18 PM
Tesserarius
 
Todi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 625
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny View Post
Apparently the 1st 30 amp fuse I replaced was the spare. The 30 amp fuse below the coupling was blown and has been replaced and the bike lit up like a christmas tree!
HAHAHAHAAAAA!!!!! I NOT the only one that replaced..... THE SPARE

Todi is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 04-18-2014, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Livonia
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks a bunch!!
Anytime any of you are near Livonia Michigan I will buy you a beer!!!

tiny is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome