CBR 900RR Header to stock Y pipe - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
Question CBR 900RR Header to stock Y pipe

Hi Twisters,

I am trying to find out will the CBR 900RR headers fit the stock Y pipe on a 2002 CB 919?

My goal is to eliminate the cat but keep the undermount dual exhaust. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Also will this header work with a belly pan or does it sit too low?


Thanks again for your time

AWP34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 07:04 PM
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWP34 View Post
Hi Twisters,

I am trying to find out will the CBR 900RR headers fit the stock Y pipe on a 2002 CB 919?

My goal is to eliminate the cat but keep the undermount dual exhaust. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Also will this header work with a belly pan or does it sit too low?

Thanks again for your time
The 900rr header is for a side mount exhaust so it will not work with the y pipe without extensive fabrication. I've never seen a cat on a 919 before. Cali bike? Your easiest route is to pick up a header from a non California 919.

redline919 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 07:52 PM
Optio
 
bartsitarski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 890
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by redline919 View Post
The 900rr header is for a side mount exhaust so it will not work with the y pipe without extensive fabrication. I've never seen a cat on a 919 before. Cali bike? Your easiest route is to pick up a header from a non California 919.
Post a picture of the cat. If you need a header, I have one that I can sell you. I am trying to purge some parts that I have laying around.

Just play. Have fun. Enjoy the game.
-Michael Jordan
bartsitarski is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
Here are my headers from underneath. I don't think I have a CAT. Please correct me if I am wrong
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5663.JPG (96.9 KB, 25 views)

AWP34 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 08:57 PM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,123
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

My 2007 had a CAT in the Stock Header. It was inside the bulges in the Y pipe. Here's a pic on the inside.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMGP1281.jpg (71.5 KB, 31 views)

marylandmike is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 09:02 PM
Optio
 
bartsitarski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 890
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWP34 View Post
Here are my headers from underneath. I don't think I have a CAT. Please correct me if I am wrong
That looks just like mine. Went downstairs to check.

Just play. Have fun. Enjoy the game.
-Michael Jordan
bartsitarski is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 09:22 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Here
Posts: 1,334
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
I am trying to find out will the CBR 900RR headers fit the stock Y pipe on a 2002 CB 919?
The stock Y pipe of a 49 state 2002 does not have a cat to start with; unless you are in CA it is not even an issue.

Quote:
My goal is to eliminate the cat...
Why? If it had one leave it, if it didn't don't sweat that either.

Quote:
My 2007 had a CAT in the Stock Header. It was inside the bulges in the Y pipe. Here's a pic on the inside.
This. Those that have them have them there. If the Y is black= no cat. If the Y is stainless=cat.

Bryce919er is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 10-17-2016, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryce919er View Post
The stock Y pipe of a 49 state 2002 does not have a cat to start with; unless you are in CA it is not even an issue.





Why? If it had one leave it, if it didn't don't sweat that either.





This. Those that have them have them there. If the Y is black= no cat. If the Y is stainless=cat.


Ok so here is my dilemma as my y pipe is stainless. I plan on getting the an exhaust as well as install my power commander and getting it all tuned. I was told by a tuner if I have a CAT that I would need to have a bung installed for an O2 sensor before the CAT which adds to the cost of this upgrade / tune. Any info would be greatly appreciated


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AWP34 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 10-18-2016, 05:48 AM
Optio
 
bartsitarski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 890
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
https://www.ebay.com/itm/162003192105


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just play. Have fun. Enjoy the game.
-Michael Jordan
bartsitarski is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 10-18-2016, 08:51 PM
Centurion
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Here
Posts: 1,334
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWP34 View Post
Ok so here is my dilemma as my y pipe is stainless. I plan on getting the an exhaust as well as install my power commander and getting it all tuned. I was told by a tuner if I have a CAT that I would need to have a bung installed for an O2 sensor before the CAT which adds to the cost of this upgrade / tune. Any info would be greatly appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There are many 06-07 (all have cats) or pre-06 CA models with slip-ons & PCIIIs that do just fine. I would not worry about it. If for some reason it bothers you it can be removed with a hammer & punch easily. It is in the bulge in the Y & looks like a bundle of very short drink mixing straws.

Bryce919er is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 10-19-2016, 03:35 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryce919er View Post
There are many 06-07 (all have cats) or pre-06 CA models with slip-ons & PCIIIs that do just fine. I would not worry about it. If for some reason it bothers you it can be removed with a hammer & punch easily. It is in the bulge in the Y & looks like a bundle of very short drink mixing straws.


It's not that it bothers me. I was told a hole needed to be drilled before the CAT and a Bung welded/installed for the 02 sensor so that the PC3 and bike can be dyno tuned and mapped properly. Is this true?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AWP34 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 10-19-2016, 03:46 PM
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
No it's not needed

redline919 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 10-19-2016, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
So do I go through the expense of dyno tuning? Or do I just load one of the maps in the 919 dropbox?

I will be running Scorpion Exhausts on my 919. I did not see any maps for the Scorpion slip-ons within dropbox. I do have my PCIII ready to install.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

AWP34 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 10-20-2016, 04:18 AM
Left of Centre
 
K1w1Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 3,502
Rep Power: 1
 
Install it, run a map, see how it feels...

K1w1Boy is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 10-20-2016, 10:23 AM
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWP34 View Post
So do I go through the expense of dyno tuning? Or do I just load one of the maps in the 919 dropbox?

I will be running Scorpion Exhausts on my 919. I did not see any maps for the Scorpion slip-ons within dropbox. I do have my PCIII ready to install.

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.
Depending on your elevation you can probably use one of the maps in the drop box. That's what I did. I think I'm using the 2nd Sato map from Ldh if I recall correctly. Try a couple out as stated. I looked for the bike to idle smoothly and the best throttle response. You are also supposed to sync the throttle bodies with the PC3 but I never did. My bike runs like a beast. No dead spots anywhere in the rpm range.

redline919 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 10-20-2016, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redline919 View Post
Depending on your elevation you can probably use one of the maps in the drop box. That's what I did. I think I'm using the 2nd Sato map from Ldh if I recall correctly. Try a couple out as stated. I looked for the bike to idle smoothly and the best throttle response. You are also supposed to sync the throttle bodies with the PC3 but I never did. My bike runs like a beast. No dead spots anywhere in the rpm range.


Sounds like a plan. Thanks
Can you provide link to maps? I have one drop box folder I accessed but not sure about whether or not LDH's maps are there
.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AWP34 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 10-20-2016, 05:04 PM
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
I'm pretty sure I'm using the satonew2 map here. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r000mjqr9...19%20maps?dl=0

redline919 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 10-21-2016, 09:38 AM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,641
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWP34 View Post
Sounds like a plan. Thanks
Can you provide link to maps? I have one drop box folder I accessed but not sure about whether or not LDH's maps are there
.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
To the best of my knowledge, all of the LDH maps are in the McRomo compilation folder.
Including the moriv4 map as converted from original .map format to PC3usb required .djm format.
Also, many of the maps therein have been notated.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 10-21-2016, 09:47 AM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,641
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWP34 View Post
Ok so here is my dilemma as my y pipe is stainless. I plan on getting the an exhaust as well as install my power commander and getting it all tuned. I was told by a tuner if I have a CAT that I would need to have a bung installed for an O2 sensor before the CAT which adds to the cost of this upgrade / tune. Any info would be greatly appreciated


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
This is nonsense you are being told.
The 919 ECU can't handle an O2 input.
A PC3usb has no facility for an 02 input.
A tuner can use a wand up one of the pipe outlets.
You don't need a bung welded on and you don't need an 02 sensor.
Knock out the cat.
Synch the closed and open positions between the TP and the PC3usb.
Install a recommended map from the library.
(I always suggest moriv4 as the starting point for aftermarket twin canned factory header)
If that is not satisfactory, check to make sure your synch and map install was successful, then try another relevant map.
If you can't find satisfaction, and/or are fiendish about a custom tune for your specifics, get a custom map done by a good tuner.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 10-21-2016, 03:39 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,641
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
If you can't find satisfaction, and/or are fiendish about a custom tune for your specifics, get a custom map done by a good tuner.
A bit more on getting a custom map done.
919s have a high volume X low heat rejection area cooling system design.
While this is extremely rarely ever a problem (aside from high temp X low humidity X hi altitude air X sustained (or high time component of a track lap) high power levels, it can all too easily be problematic during mapping.
The 919 ECU (per LDH advice from eons ago and likely long forgotten by too many) has enrichening steps that kick in once the coolant temperature rises past the ideal range.
(my guess is the enrichening steps are intended to reduce combustion chamber heat load into the cooling system, noting power will also be reduced)
A 919 is into the fuel enrichening zone when the coolant fan kicks in.
If a 919 is being mapped while the cooling fan is on, the mapping will be incorrect, as the PC's mapping correction will be based on an enriched, and not normal, amount of fueling as called for the ECU's map. (remember, the map in the PC3 is a mapping correction laid over the ECU's map)
In other words, any part of a dyno run that is done with the cooling fan running, it botched.
And because of small rad and the large coolant volume, it takes longer to knock the coolant temperature down during the inter dyno run cool-off periods.

Today's tidbit : For track days, and IF your coolant is running hot because of above referred to conditions, remove the fan ! At speed, the fan restricts flow for the area it blankets and effectively reduces the heat rejection rate of the rad. Another trick is to run 10 % EG 90 % water along with WaterWetter. The 10/90 formula increases the specific heat of the coolant and improves its heat rejection rate of the overall cooling system. The 10 % EG content makes sure you have decent water pump seal lubrication, as hot water has very poor lubricating properties. If you want some antifreeze effect, use 25 % EG instead of 10, and keep in mind that 25 % EG isgood to roughly -10 F
AND won't actually freeze solid below that, and instead "slush up".

mcromo44 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 10-24-2016, 12:42 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Torrance
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 1
 
Thank you all for the awesome advice and pointing me in the right direction. PCIII has arrived. Now I am just waiting on my exhaust. I plan on removing the CAT in the meantime as exhaust is coming from overseas. Looking forward to seeing how the maps impact performance. Thanks again.

AWP34 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome